The Weekly Writing Challenge #2: My favourite movie “Leon” in new Watercolor painting

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago

a1DSC03531.JPG

“Leon” by @Stef1

 

*

 

Hello my dear Steemians and Art Fans,

 


 

Today I wanted to share my post that is dedicated to weekly Writing Challenge that is organized by @steemitblog and it is dedicated to favourite movie.

 

My favourite movie is “Leon”, directed by Luc Besson

 

To tell the truth there are many movies that I really like, because of different reason such as a good story, mystery, special effects and family.

But going back to the beginning when I was young I thought this movie left a significant impact in my memory and that is why it is taking a special place.

I remember in 90’s while while switching the channels of television I saw the beginning of this movie and the reason why I stopped on this movie was the beginning of story. There was a simple ordinary family there are thousands in every country, parents, two children and living in apartment building. Relatively low income, parents have no time for their teenage girl the role played by young Natalie Portman. Shortly after start her whole family is murdered by gangster including her little brother and she is seeking a help of her neighbor a “lonely wolf” and grumpy man with funny outfit and sunglasses Leon, the role is wonderfully played by my favourite Actor Jean Reno.

I watched if few times and still love to watch it on and off.

*

 

Does it have any special meaning for you?

The viewer develops different types of emotions while watching such as sympathy for Mathilda for losing her whole family, pain from loss of family, revenge for the lost family and especially innocent little boy. Anger towards the parents of Mathilda and unfair world of drugs. But the same time it is enjoyable to see how innocence of children can change even such contracted assassins.

 

Who did you see it with

I watched it myself and at home from normal television, later on I watched it few times with my hubby and we both love this movie.

 

Which of the stars of the movie do you like most?

My favourite character is Leon ( Jean Reno ), the man of not much words, very simple with his principles and his best friend a plant in a pot, that he refers as “It’s my best friend. Always happy. No questions.”

 



 

Because of my favourite movie I decided to do a painting dedicated to that movie and also to challenge, hope you like it.

 

Trenner groß.png

 

My step-by-step process:

 

DSC03525.JPG

Trenner groß.png

DSC03526.JPG

Trenner groß.png

DSC03527.JPG

Trenner groß.png

DSC03529.JPG

Trenner groß.png

DSC03530.JPG

Trenner groß.png

 

The finished painting:

 

DSC03531.JPG

Watercolor painting “Leon” by @Stef1

Rough watercolour textured paper 30x40 cm, paper weight 300 gsm, watercolours colours in pans and tubes, flat and round brushes

 

Trenner groß.png

 

 

Trenner groß.png

 

Sourse

 

RCDSCDXdvwM7B9oP4cUFta.jpg

 

Trenner groß.png



 

XTest-1ab.jpg

 

*

 

I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)

Sort:  

It is one of my favourite movies too:) Such a grat acting from both and from Gary Oldman as the bad guy. I really liked the artwork also, great work with the shadows:)

You hit the point George, that was a reason why I wanted to do that painting because of the contrast of light and shadow. I mentioned previously I found that in watercolor you can use contrast in order to make the work lively and interesting. I love that feature of watercolor.

As to Gary Oldman, he really played his role brilliantly I hated him very much when I watched the movie first time, so much cruelty and craziness in the whole appearance, another skill for actors to ply the bad guy so that viewer really think that he is a bad guy :)

Yes he was an amazing villain, i think it was around that time that he played Dracula also. He had a good experience,lol. Another amazing 90's movie:)

I did not know that he was as a Dracula, need to watch again :)

 4 years ago 

Great Watercolor painting @stef1

Now I want to watch the movie again.
And you also give a good review of the movie

Thank you @xpilar, I am glad you like my painting, I really enjoyed doing that. Like you that made me to want to watch the movie again :)

I remember watching this movie @stef1 it was a long time agaoi but would like to watch it again :D

Thank you @cryptopie agree, it was also long ago with me, need to dig out again from our movie collection :)

 4 years ago 

nice colour painting

Thank you @davidad :)

I really enjoyed the film as well one of my favourites and great painting!

Hi Ian, I am pretty sure that there are many fans of the movie, such a brilliant story by one of the best producer Luc Besson and of course both main character a dream team. I am glad you like my work, I wanted to do some time ago but was not sure what medium to use and this time was another reason to practice watercolor. Thank you for your feedback :)

I watched this movie and I like it too. Just a little weird the girl seems like having crush on the hero. But that not surprise because he is worthy of being admired. hehe

Thank you @cryptokannon it is nice to know that this movie belongs to one of the famous works of Luc Besson, one of the brilliant producer and many bestsellers. What I also noticed that some of his main characters are tough and strong female characters like in "Lucy" and "The fifth element", that is also his brand feature :)

Thank you for taking part in the 100 Days of Steem Weekly Writing Challenge.

Great movie choice and excellent painting.

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

Thank you very much @steemcurator01, sorry for late reply was really busy last couple of days, but you made my day, I am glad you like my work, watercolor is something new that recently started to use and always anxious to start, you like in "Hamlet" but a question is to do or not to do?

You are doing a great job organizing all the challenges and contest and interacting with people, that is what needed at present. Thank you for your daily hard work supporting users on Steem :)

Thank you. Glad you like what we are doing so far.

Look forward to seeing more of your paintings.

The Steemit Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63526.15
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56