Monday Challenge - My Favorite Sports Team: Dirk Nowitzki "Dallas Mavericks"

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago

a1a1DSC03600.jpg

“Dirk Nowitzki” by @stef1

 

*

 

Hello my dear Steemians and Art Fans,

 

When writing about favourite local Sport Team, it was difficult to me because even though we are in Scotland but we are German, while being sport fans in the past and following different teams while moving from place to place now we are is a little area where my favourite sport is not really popular here.

My favorite Sport Art is Basketball, I loved it since I was in primary school, of course NBA games with its speed and action was something that I started to watch since I was a child. Also one of the greatest Basketball player whose biography has fascinated me is Dirk Nowitzki, German Basketball player who from 1998 till 2019 was a part of Dallas Mavericks team.

As always I wanted to do a new Watercolor painting of Dirk Nowitzki dedicated to this challenge.

 

Trenner groß.png

 

Basketball

 

My first acquaintance with basketball was when I was 9 y.o. we had regular sport classes and the sport teacher taught us different games every month, once we started to play basketball I liked the idea of being able to throw the ball through the basket and after training I was good in that.

Half a year later we were announced that there will be some local club trainers coming and choosing the children for a junior basketball teams. I was excited and when the time came I was disappointed that was not chosen. When I asked them, they did not give me proper answer, so I thought that it might be because I was not good enough I came to each training and was watching. Couple of weeks later I approached them again and then was told that I was too little for it, to tell the truth I was really little in compare to my schoolmate. But until now I am disappointed by adults, why they can’t tell from beginning on what is the requirements to be chosen.

*

 

Dirk Nowitzki and "Dallas Mavericks"

 

-dirk-nowitzki.jpg1.jpg

 

Dirk is a sportsman that I really admire, as every child when he was young he tried different sports but found himself in basketball. With 20 years he is the first young European Player in NBA and starting his career in "Dallas Mavericks" and stayed with the same team loyal despite of being offered better contract from other teams till his last game when he retired from NBA in 2019 after 21 year. Despite of playing for US, he still played for German basketball team for Olympic games. Until now he is very well known in both US and Europe and a great example of a real star.

That is why I decided to present him today, my favourite Sport and the great example of real superstar.

Trenner groß.png

 

Process steps:

 

DSC03594.JPG

Trenner groß.png

DSC03595.JPG

Trenner groß.png

DSC03598.JPG

Trenner groß.png

DSC03599.JPG

Trenner groß.png

 

Final painting

 

a1DSC03600.jpg

Watercolor painting “Dirk Nowitzki” by @stef1

Rough watercolour textured paper 30x40 cm, paper weight 300 gsm, watercolours colours in pans and tubes, flat and round brushes

 


I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)


 

Trenner groß.png

 

XTest-1ab.jpg

 



litecoin.png Litecoin : LUpfhNEjsfCXfjX21zo3hW3jYsdNAPgf2c

ethereum.png Ethereum : 0x1f3D5b5F315C97b7cb3b3d852a4a6CA9473A4DdD

dogecoin.png Dogecoin : DRpuNZmjZbrkSzRKFeyKVza2DSvUks1Hpi

dash-logo.png Dash : XejGN8iip9XtZotX3xThF1pnwCjU4xZhVD

tron-logo.png TRON : TSUjtkDrSVpnighYXe48W6mZPUexdYxaR9



Sort:  

How greatly done ! Watercolour is not an easy medium...

This looks great. Honestly, I find challenging to work with watercolor.

Thank you. Me too, watercolor is really difficult medium but the results could be every time different. I love to use watercolor in portrait now, but still struggling with background, But just one after another :)

Yeah, you are right. One after the other. The results are always amazing.

운동선수의 역동적인 모습 잘 표현 했어요

Thank you Veronica. I like to capture the moments in motions and this one was very good example for it.

(google-translator) 베로니카 감사합니다. 나는 움직임의 순간을 포착하고 싶습니다.이 순간은 아주 좋은 예였습니다.

 4 years ago 

Не знал, что немцы играют в баскетбол.

Экспрессивно получилось)

Баскетбол не очень популярныйкак футбол или гандбол, но есть клубы и хорошие игроки :)

Thank you for taking part in the latest 100 Days of Steem Challenge.

Another great painting!

Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.

The Steemit Team

 4 years ago (edited)

Thank you @steemcurator01, glad you like this work!

My favorit player

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear that you also like the brilliant skills of this sportsman :)

Really cool artwork, Stef! I like how you captured his gesture.

I always thought school gym teachers are jerks, if he/she couldn't find you a place in the team, at least they should let you train, and maybe they would eventually see how passionate you were about it.

I'm not a big fan of Basketball but I loved watching Manu Ginobili's games playing for the National team, it looked almost like a superhero hahaha.

Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for your nice feedback, I agree with you but these trainers of such clubs are looking for potential good players and I think want to be a discover of young talents, it is for them simple selection but for children it is a life changing moments.

I am glad you like this painting, it took a while for me when choosing what picture to take as a reference as wanted to capture both a person and sport :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.02
ETH 2653.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84