You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Before & Beyond the Border

in WORLD OF XPILAR5 days ago

A Pakistani cricket coach lives in Bulgaria, speaks perfect Bulgarian and had appeared in Bulgaria's Got Talent with jokes about India, which we all laughed a lot at, but I think you can't feel the real atmosphere when you haven't been to these countries and you have not experienced their historical dramas, you can only laugh.
The same goes for all countries, of course.
What strikes me is that usually neighboring countries, which in modern times are singled out as neighboring and separate, are never on good terms. And if they are different religions, even more so. Yet I think that everything starts at the political level and only a group of people at the top gain from these conflicts, while the common people always lose.
Well, ok, I don't know about you, but Bulgaria, for example, is experiencing a historical drama with neighboring North Macedonia, and the ways in which the rulers are trying to turn the ordinary population against each other seems absurd, even offensive to me. The topic is fresh, because yesterday they gave news from Macedonia and the national, government television, for example, deliberately did not translate the words of the interviewees in the report, because it is claimed that this language is Bulgarian. And I don't understand any of it 😵 Single words, yes, but I can't translate a whole sentence.

Sort:  

Even I think I don't realize the intensity of the situation back then. I have watched a couple of documentaries and movies on Pakistan's Independence (not to mention the school text-books) and they always make me so emotional...still I think I can't understand the pain of people from that timeline because I can't wear their shoes.

And yes, there's something about neighbouring countries...we are not very great friends with any neighbour except China.

the ways in which the rulers are trying to turn the ordinary population against each other seems absurd, even offensive to me.

Why can't there be peace in the world...

And I don't understand any of it 😵 Single words, yes, but I can't translate a whole sentence.

Then it's not Bulgarian, right?

still I think I can't understand the pain of people from that timeline

Yes! Personally, I find it difficult to identify with the history of Bulgaria, and to be honest, I don't understand those young people who tattoo famous national heroes from the past on their bodies. Not only because the history in textbooks is not always correct. In my opinion, what is taught in school is again a political game that serves the government at the moment. Not to mention that two opposing versions of the same story are written in the history textbooks of two warring countries. 😅 In short, nothing is clear.

Why can't there be peace in the world...

I think that it has only recently become clear to every ordinary person anywhere on the globe that peace has never been a goal or an aspiration. For financial and political reasons. And that is why wars will never stop, even now we are threatened with another world war. Enmities between neighbors are no longer enough. One can even wonder how we managed to last so long without a world war.

Then it's not Bulgarian, right?

For political reasons, many political figures, scientists and researchers claim that the Macedonian language is a form of the Bulgarian language. Today I read that years ago there were parties that even proposed to fine TV stations when they put subtitles on the Macedonian speech. This was not right according to them, because it is the Bulgarian language.
They may be from the same group and have a common origin, but the fact is that I do not understand this language and I feel harmed when I watch a report on national television without subtitles.
Consider how far political propaganda goes. It seems unbelievable nowadays. Even funny in some ways. But mostly sad.😔

I felt betrayed when I came to know that most of the history I was taught at school was a lie. I felt huge respect for my teacher of Pakistan Studies who always tried to tell us the other side of the history in subtle ways. He probably didn't want to lose his job (nobody does) but I always appreciated him for his courage which others lacked.

CONGRATULATIONS!!

Your comment has been supported by THE DEC TEAM. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.

Black Modern Personal LinkedIn Banner_20240801_181829_0000.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16