You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Paper Magazines and Paper Guy

in WORLD OF XPILAR8 days ago

What times those were! I also collected magazines, was interested in celebrities, models, fashion and designers, dreamed of a better life, and these magazines were the accelerator for that. It happened to me years later, too, that I would open them again when I was at my parents' house and all the memories, an entire era, would instantly come flooding back. I also had an empty bottle of Fa deodorant from that time that was still scented, and that too, if I opened the cap, that whole era came rushing back with even more force. 😄
I think one should save such things though. With them, a person can travel in time, live several lives at the same time, remember things, so long ago, long forgotten. And also, and most importantly, to experience those emotions that never went away, they continue to live somewhere until we summon them again with the help of these artifacts from our past.

Sort:  

Sometimes, I want to feel the same enthusiasm and obsessions again. But I can't. I would start watching a really good show but then adult worries run through my mind and I lose interest. This happens with every other thing that I enjoy otherwise. Not that I have big troubles in life, just usual stuff. But I hate it when I can't have fun. When I don't feel the peace reading a book in a quiet corner. I always have a thousand other things running at the back of my mind. I want to zone out but I can't.

Excuse me for getting on a slightly different track....

Fa bottles... hahaha.. I'm guilty of using those a lot.

I want to keep such artifacts but I also don't want items at home that I don't use. Maybe because of space issues and our moves every few years because of my husband's job. It's a nightmare to pack a home.

Well, I have different problems, but probably with the same result.
I've always been terrified of the accumulation of things that inevitably happens when you stay in one place for several years. For some time I have even been thinking about how to make my life fit in one backpack. There is a way, but on the other hand, I don't even want to live like that. Because I also move every few years. I currently live in my partner's house because I could never afford to have my own house (where I could just leave my stuff at least). But I will also have to move from here soon, due to the impossibility of finding a job. So what am I going to do with my stuff is a question that will be on the agenda again.
On the other hand, I also can't concentrate, I can't even sit down to read a book. Books years ago were also a huge pleasure for me, but not when I live here, when only thoughts of survival run through my head - how to get a job, where to live, etc.
Here, you see, different circumstances - same result.🙃

You are right, when you live in one place, you are bound to accumulate a lot of stuff. I think that's okay if that stuff is in use or holds practical importance. But the keepsakes and relics...which have little or no emotional value left, it's no point of keeping those. I also didn't wish for a nomadic life, traveling is another thing, but moving every few years is a lot of nuisance. Your circumstances or mine, lesser the baggage, easier the life.

I hope things get easier for you. (:

Thank you❣️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58097.54
ETH 3176.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28