The story of SURF

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 months ago

IMG_20200219_182327.jpg
picture of a beach in Karachi. Captured by me.

I've noticed Xpilar's digital artworks inspired by images of water bodies time and again. It seems he particularly enjoys warm, sunny scenes. I asked him once at the beginning of winter, and he confirmed that he prefers sunny days.


Digital art by @xpilar. A warm sunset, I suppose, serene. The water is at peace.

This particular image took me back to when I visited a beach for the first time in my adult life. I had visited earlier, but that was when I was in 7th grade, and most of the memories had blurred. So when I visited again, I couldn't get enough of it. It was an hour before sunset.

As I absorbed every detail of this sunset, fearing I might forget it, I also captured it with my camera. Little did I know that I had also captured a unique natural phenomenon. Can you guess it? Could you see it at first glance? Can you appreciate the "surf" in my image?

One memory from my earlier visit to the beach is my father explaining the association of "surf" with washing powder. He told me that it's actually a misnomer; it doesn't refer to washing powder or detergent. However, almost everyone in our household and the majority of people I know use "Surf" interchangeably with detergent. In a broader sense, "surf" refers to the waves breaking on the shore and forming foamy, soapy-looking bubbles, typically found at beaches. Hence the name "Surf" for a well-known detergent brand. This knowledge was passed on by my father before the advent of the internet, or specifically "Google" or other internet search engines, and today I don't want to rely on any online sources. I may be wrong about this information, but I'm willing to take the risk.

Surf boils spotless - Surf detergent advert, issued by Lever Brothers, 1955
One of the post-war brands of detergent powders that radically changed the UK's soap and detergent powder market Surf was heavily promoted by Lever Brothers
. Source

So, the name "Surf" is a misnomer in the sense that every other detergent or washing powder used to be called "Surf" at one point. This trend seems to be changing now. Why, you ask? Nowadays, you can suds up your duds with liquids, gels, resins, capsules, and all sorts of magical concoctions! Have you come across any aesthetic reels featuring these laundry materials? They really make you want to wash your clothes. Going off the topic (already way off the topic)... 🫣

Anyhow, coming back to the subject, this was the packaging of Surf in old days 👇


Source

It's amusing how some of these misnomers sneak into our childhood memories and stick like glue! Take the lead pencil, for example—bet you didn't know it's actually graphite inside! (Yep, I totally used that fact to flex my brainpower among friends back in the day). Today, in this fast-paced, media-controlled life, nothing lasts for long, not even the misnomers or the slangs. Honestly, I'm clueless about most of the short forms, slangs, or the new words used by my kids; they tend to change every day. Nothing seems to last for more than a few months, maybe. huh? Am I turning into that old-timer who's always comparing "back in my day" with the youngins'? Yup, it's a reality check alright. Welcome to the club!

But after 30 years, Surf decided to shake things up and rebranded as Surf Excel to ride the wave of competition. And guess what? I'm still their loyal customer ever since! ;)

Just letting you know that I have to wash a load right now. It's just that my work was interrupted by this digital art of Xpilar. His image brought back so many memories, and I couldn't help but jot them down.

Now I'm off to tend to much overdue washing, yes yes, with Surf, a.k.a. Surf Excel...


I bet you're wondering, "What the heck did I just read?" Lol. I do that sometimes

Sort:  
 4 months ago (edited)

I love the sea, warm days with sun
I was born under the sign of the fish 🐟, maybe that makes the sea attract me

 4 months ago 

Wow, you are a Pisces... Hence your affection for water, like my daughter.

One more thing: Do you also enjoy doing anything with water? For example, she would not miss a chance to spend another 5 minutes at the sink making bubbles out of soap... She is so fond of washing...

She is also very compassionate and loving 🥰

 4 months ago 

In my adult age, it is also fun with soap bubbles with the grandchildren 🫧

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46