The Classical Tag Game - in VR

in WORLD OF XPILAR6 months ago

Have you heard about the famous Tag game? The modern version likely originated from children's play in the 19th century, featuring a simple chase-and-catch dynamic where one player, "it," tries to tag others. This concept has adapted over time and remains popular globally. In South Asia, games like kho kho, kabaddi, and pakdan pakrai (run and chase) are different forms of tag game, adding unique cultural flavors to this classic activity.

The most recent advancement, however, in this game is laser tag in virtual reality (VR). Players typically wear VR headsets that provide a 360-degree view of the virtual arena. The handheld controllers serve as virtual weapons, and participants can aim, shoot, and strategize within the digital space. The combination of virtual reality and laser tag elements creates a unique and futuristic gaming experience, bringing a new level of excitement to the traditional concept of tag. I may be wrong; there might be some more recent things or technologies out there. But this is the one I'm familiar with.

Last year during summer holidays, we tried out virtual laser tag in an arena with our kids and my sister-in-law. As we planned a day full of activities, the kids were drawn to a particular game, playing numerous rounds and with so much energy.

IMG_20220708_193352.jpg

Out of nowhere, my sister-in-law proposed that we also play the laser tag game. Initially reserved due to the bustling crowd, I found myself nodding in agreement. Yet, the thought of donning those reality-altering goggles stirred a cocktail of emotions within me.

IMG_20220708_193828.jpg

With a mix of apprehension and curiosity, I slipped on the glasses, and instantaneously, I felt an immediate detachment from my surroundings, immersing me in a captivating and entirely different dimension.

I could no longer hear anyone around me. We played a two-player tag game, and I was up against my sister-in-law. Little did I know that in the VR Laser Tag game, participants could enter a virtual reality like that. This simulated world allows players to interact with each other and the surroundings. The VR technology is so advanced that it enables players to explore dynamic landscapes, engage in strategic battles, and experience a heightened sense of presence. Hence, the enthusiasm of our kids for playing round after round. I was also enjoying every bit of it.

We continued playing for perhaps 5-7 minutes. I don't know, but it felt like an eternity. It was a sensation I had not experienced before. The arena was bustling with people. There was a bowling alley with the howling and so much noise, but I couldn't really hear anything.

IMG_20220708_193929.jpg

As I removed the virtual reality goggles, the roaring sounds of the arena and the voices of those around me gradually seeped back in. The transition from the captivating virtual world to reality felt so different. The kids told me that they were giving out instructions all the time. The person conducting the game was also guiding me through something. Still, I was so immersed in the virtual world that I had not listened to a word of those around me.

Reflecting on those intense minutes of laser tag, I realized how technology could transport us to worlds where time seemed to stand still. It was more than just a game; it was an unforgettable journey into a different dimension, leaving me with a newfound appreciation for the fusion of technology and recreation.

IMG_20220708_193941.jpg

Sort:  

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57558.50
ETH 2437.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35