You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: اردو - میری پیاری زبان / Urdu - My Beautiful Language

in WORLD OF XPILAR6 months ago

I received feedback from a reader outside of Steemit. She holds a special place in my heart, and I deeply value her opinions.

منقول ~ copy and pasted as received:

A lovely read, as always😍 and the topics you choose are always so close to my heart.
I too, love Urdu with all my heart and agree that a language is more than just a medium of communication, it's an entire way of being. I truly love my mother tongue, Pushto too. It's an identity that I have cherished all my life, despite being taunted by Pathan jokes all my life 🤪 I regret very much that I never learnt to read or write it. My father tried very hard for all us three siblings, arranging a tutor and subscribing to a pushto newspaper but we were too young and naive to understand and didn't pay heed. When it comes to languages, we Pakistanis are a strange lot. The most curious case is that of Arabic. A language we can read and write but not understand!! I'm sure there's no stranger phenomenon than that in this world🤦🏻‍♀️
And I can so relate to your sentiments about Urdu songs. When I was a kid, I was crazy about songs. And while we listened endlessly to western music, the real chaska was always Urdu songs, both local and Indian.
Today, I can say that 100% for Quran translation. It can never, never touch my emotions when I read an English translation. But reading the same thing in Urdu gives me goose bumps.
I hope we will not see the complete demise of Urdu in our lifetime, considering the total lack of interest of our new generation😕
And full marks for eloquently and gracefully explaining the essence of Indo-pak partition to the unversed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55