Proverbs and expressions with flies!!My entry for #steemexclusive macropohtography contest.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

Hello, friends of the world of the xpilar community! This is my entry post for the weekly Steemexlusive macro photography contest. This week I will participate with an old photograph that I have captured with my old mobile phone Samsung j5 many years ago. I like this picture because some details such as the eyes, the antennae and the legs of the fly are clearly visible in the photograph.
image.png

Because the photo depicts a fly and I do not know many things about them in today's post I will write some Greek proverbs and expressions , some of them are funny and some others very didactic. So enjoy.

I do not eat up flies
This proverb meaning is that I do not believe whatever I hear without checking it out. I am not naive.

He pulled out the spleen of the fly.
We use this proverb to describe someone who is very stingy. Someone who tries to save as much money as he can.

The fly made an ass and shited everyone.
This proverb refers to someone or something who takes advantage of a situation and, coming out of the mess in which he was immersed, seeks to benefit over others. Also this proverb fosters arrogance.

He turned the fly into an elephant.
This one is pretty obvious, we are referring to someone who magnifies things. For example, someone who started a small business and turned it into a big company.

If you have honey, you will see the flies coming.
Give people what they want and they will gather around you like flies in honey. a proverb that can also be used as a marketing tip.

The fly will eat iron and the mosquito will eat steel.
A classic expression, which describes an impending conflict of all kinds, in the form of a quarrel or a strong disagreement. An extremely expressive expression, with two insects eating metals!

The eagle does not catch flies.
The great and powerful people,do not concede to deal with humble and trivial matters.

Flies do not produce honey!
Each person has their abilities and talents and should be limited to them. Personally, I disagree with this expression because I believe that our kind can achieve everything.

You catch more flies with honey than with vinegar.
One more wise expression. We can achieve more things with our nice behavior. In the contrary if we are grumpy and rude, it makes things harder.

She took what the fly lifts on its wings.
An expression that highlights minimalism. Also very expressive as the wings of the fly can not lift anything.

Like the fly in the milk.
We use this expression to characterize someone who is different from everyone around him. Someone who stands out of the crowd.

In a closed mouth, no-fly enters.
Also, a very wise proverb which transfers us the message not to gossip around and be careful to think before talk. If we do not open our mouth, we will avoid troubles.

P.S. I participate at the fist type of the contest : Insects- Beetle- Arthropoda

Sort:  

a saying full of meaning, I really like to read it friend, thank you for sharing,success always for you.

Hello @lensa-macro. thanks for stopping by. I wish success to you too!!

Thank you friend.

 3 years ago 

Some Greek proverbs have the same meaning and sound with Russian proverbs :)

Russians and Greeks are brothers. We have the same religion and many common traditions.

 3 years ago 

I agree. Moreover, I think that in ancient times we were one big people :)

You always give interesting things in your posts, it's really amazing, I am amazed

I am having fun while I am making my posts. It is so amzing to have fun and earn money!! :)
Thanks for your kind words friend @parnet-macro.

Greetings from Aceh to all my friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57087.02
ETH 3064.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19