Contest: “My Year 2020”, Sponsored by @xpilar, @steem-agora, @art-venture, @stef1, @steemcurator02 and @nutbox ||by @simonnwigwesteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

year.png


Introduction

Hello guys, It is with pain in my heart that I write on these contest that goes with the title “My Year 2020”. Sometimes, when I look back at the enthusiasm with which we all stepped into 2020 with, I just break down disappointed. We all believed that 2020 will be a stepping stone to greatness and truly it seemed so at first but halfway through January, we started seeing shades of this horror series called 2020.
Covid-19

Around November-December it was sounding as if it was a rumor about the pandemic corona virus, hence the name COVID-19 Pandemic spreading rapidly across the entire globe. The lockdown started here in Nigeria around march and extended till September.
Police Brutality

Police brutality has been on for a very long time in this country Nigeria, its just because the youth couldn’t take it again, so the decided to take up a peaceful protest against it. It all started very peacefully across all the states in the country and even beyond, until the massacre that took place on the 20/10/2020 at the lekki toll gate broke up causing commotion in the country and beyond. In my opinion the violent protest was helpful because it revealed many things we do not know about our leaders e.g. hiding of palliative meant to be shared to the masses and many more mysteries was made know to the masses.
Economics Crisis

Talking about the economic hardship in our country Nigeria today, this contest cannot be over emphasized because the poor are getting poorer and the rich are getting richer. I am a witness to the fact that major Nigerian hardly afford 3 square meal a day because prize of everything has drastically increase and the lockdown didn’t allow people to work for their daily bread.
ASSU Strike

Furthermore, although there's still the issue of the strike action by the Academic Staffs Union of Universities (ASUU) which has made it impossible for all federal universities to resume. Meeting are held eventually every week without any tangible result coming out from the gathering.
I really appreciate God for the privilege he has given to me to witness all that has happened so far and I know it has strengthened me to be better and withstand more challenging situations.


Loss of Life

In these very year 2020 I lost four of my family members, all died without any form of sickness. It was as if the world is actually coming to an end to me. Many terrible things has happened to me and my family this year 2020, therefore I say it is really a year filled with disaster.
Conclusion

Sincerely I want to appreciate the organizers of these great contest, I have being feeling bitter within me for a while now but immediately I saw these contest and started writing on it I feel a little relief. There is actually a saying that “every disappointment is a blessing”, I am not totally depressed in these year 2020 because it is still in these year that I came in contact with steemit, and since then my joy has always been complete because I share almost everything bothering me here and get advice and support through the comment section and upvote from different steemians across the globe.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Thank you for taking time and writing this post. That sounds very hard time you have experienced this year. The life will lose its sense when people lose their close relatives. I am glad that you got over. The life and time goes on and we have to adapt us to that.

Thanks for your encouragement

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29