Add an Unique Aroma and Taste to Your Meal with Rampe!

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago



Image Source

Hi everyone! Hope you all doing well and staying safe. I’m from Sri Lanka and new to Steemit.
I saw some interesting posts on trees and flowers. When I walking around my garden, I took some snaps to show you all and after I’m further searched on it.

Then I found that this plant is specific to Southeast and South Asian region. As there are many people outside of this region, I thought it would be nice to write a post on this. I attach a picture I took from the garden hoping you may know it or if you don’t this will help to identify it.

IMG_6899.jpg

This plant is called Rampe in our country and I found that some people call it pandan.

Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand kitchen gardens normally have a rampe plant. Source

CountryName
Sri LankaRampe
Vietnamla dua
Thailandbai toey
Malaysiadaun pandan
Indonesiadaun pandan

Source

IMG_6900.jpg

We use this leaves to add a taste and an aroma whenever we cook rice. Our mothers add some pieces of rampe leaves into the pot before it places on the fire or in rice cooker.

In Sri Lanka we add karapincha which called curry leaves in English and rampe to many other curries too. Normally karapincha is added to almost all curries and rampe to rice, potato curry, meat curry, soya meat curry and many others.

It’s flavor and aroma is unique. No other plant can replace that. When we cook rice with rampe, we can feel that aroma far away from the kitchen. It increases my hunger all the time I feel it. 😋

IMG_6977.jpeg

Image Source

When I was searching it, I found that it has many other advantages other than this.

"Adding pandan leaves to your diet helps your liver with its detoxifying function. It helps discharge toxins and unhealthy substances from your liver and body. Since it is a mild laxative, it eases the process of waste excretion. Pandan is a natural remedy to solve the dandruff dilemma." Source

I hope this post will help someone to know a new thing. I’m waiting for your feedbacks as I’m new to this and I need to improve quality of my posts.

Thank you for reading. 😍

Sort:  

Nice post. This is the kind of post we want in steemit.

Once I thought that this might not be suited for this as it took less number of feedback than other posts. But your comment made me feel better and I’ll post more like this. Thank you @cryptokannon 😍❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57158.90
ETH 2411.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28