Colouring My desperate Reality

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

IMG_20210704_222041.jpg

How does an artist see the world?

Putting synaesthesia to one side for a moment, what does the world look like through the eyes of other artists? I often wonder about this.

When I look at a market stall heaving with brightly coloured fruit and vegetables, or the undulating view of the countryside from a hill top, or a tiny flower poking up through a crack in the pavement, how is what I’m seeing different from what you are seeing?

If you put ten artists in front of a scene and asked them to paint it, no two would paint the same thing. One might reduce it to a series of sparse abstract marks, another might express it with vibrant non local colours and added extras, and yet another might paint it as realistically as they could.

I’ve been thinking about this recently. In one sense I don’t like to categorise and single out, to make it be about ‘artists’ vs ‘non artists’; on the other hand I notice that painters {and also writers, photographers and all sorts of other artists} tend to see the world a little differently from people who don’t regularly express themselves in that way.

Is it that we’re just wired that way? Or are we, by repeatedly expressing ourselves in our most creative ways, in a state of constantly training ourselves to see more deeply into things, to not always take at face value what our eyes seem to be telling us?
For me it’s always a case of looking with the most consciousness I can bring to the moment; in basic terms the difference between a penetrating gaze and eyes that have glazed over from familiarity or lack of interest.

Here are a few ways that I like to look at the world that help me grow my gifts and skills in painting, as well as just as an observer of the world. Some are ingrained habits, some I have to consciously remember to do. What I love is that it’s like flipping switches; you can go from micro to macro in a moment, or switch the focus of your eyes to create a very different scene in front of you.

And of course you don’t have to be a painter to use them; by themselves they make life more interesting!

The article above is the one which I saw recently and found interesting. Then... above figure is drew by a mobile application - 'ibispaint x' .

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Your post has been nominated by @ayana511

Congratulations @ruephoria your post will receive
20% upvote from World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97