Some Animal Paintings and Song of Early Existentialist Sounds

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

Hedgehog1.jpg

Hedgehog and Colander 2016. Acrylic on paper, 17 x 25"

I have a commission to begin this week. A family portrait. I don’t like drawing people because I don’t draw well. The customer has seen my work though, and will accept representations as long as the hair color is right, requested accoutrements added in, colors blended—not stark, and the people grounded, not flying. She has about 20 other demands, that usually I would balk at, but this time decided to take the challenge. She is high society and housekeeping in the city where I was going to relocate my studio (a sad post for another day), and I thought her positivity and desire for my work would go a long way to advertise new blood to an established community.
Meanwhile, I offer these paintings of animals and a song about the philosophy of some animals. I wrote and recorded the latter last year.

Beware... The squirrel is my spirit animal.

Thanks for visiting!

Ron

chickadee.jpg

The Chickadee Takes Her Perch on the Tree of Liberty 2020. Acrylic on American Flag, 18 x 32"

KittyHawk.jpg

I Wish Kitty Hawk was a Bird and Not the Start of the End of the World 2016. Acrylic on paper, 15 x 22"

squirreldylan.jpg

Fluorescent Squirrel 2021. Acrylic on Bob Dylan album, Dylan, 12 x 12"

owl.jpg

Giant Screech Owl at the Park 2020. Acrylic on paper, 12 x 16"

spirit animal.jpg

My Spirit Animal For Olga 2015. Acrylic on canvas, 14 x 11"

Threebirds.jpg

This Morning, Three Little Birds Got Into My Stomach and Flew 2016. Acrylic on canvas, 36 x 36"

Amoeba.jpg

Amoeba From to North Country 2020. Acrylic on wood panel, 20 x 16" (by Ron Throop and Michael Flanagan)

2018.3.cowlow.jpg

There Once Was a Cow From Poughkeepsie 2018. Acrylic on canvas, 20 x 16"

Gather.jpg

Rosebuds and Porcupine 2016. Acrylic on canvas, 16 x 20"

The song:

Descartes in the North Woods

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hi, I looked at your post by playing the song on your post. Seeing and hearing intensify imagination and feelings!
I'm still unfamiliar with NFT stuff, but I've been reading the news about it. I think Squirrel might be a very good idea for a 10k collection in NFT :)

Oh thank you!
I cannot figure out how to pursue NFTs. Remarkable confusion... Mining for ethereum (aka: spending money to make money) hasn’t got me inspired yet. I’ll need convincing:)

Still, I will look up what you mean by “10K collection”. Squirrels could always use more nuts:)

 2 years ago 

A proverb says that you must lose a fly to catch a trout. Many people seem to focus on the trout like in this proverb. I wish I had clear and detailed information about NFTs and could explain it. We'll continue learning :)

Yes, my wife and I read about coding 10,000 NFTs yeasterday, after reading your comment. She is fluent in Photoshop. Now we need the gumption.
We both like the squirrel! Thank you:)

 2 years ago 

Wow, nice to hear that! Great team ;) I'll wait to hear good news. Good Luck :)

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Fantastic! Thank you!

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Super!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69516.92
ETH 3835.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72