One of My Favorite Stuckist Exhibitions and Dance!

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

DannoTumblr.jpg

In 2008 You Wanted My Tap. I Thought You Wanted My Wife Acrylic on canvas, 30 x 24"

Back in 2015, my friend Dan finished his last winter in New York, the gray exhaust-smear-on-snow state. I met him at a local art show in 2008. I was living in the country then; he came up to me, hand outstretched, in all its Texas friendly, to say hello. I pulled my hand out of my winter coat and a maple tap fell out. He asked me what the heck it was, and then after I told him, he did that big Texas thing that scares us tight New Yorkers to new heights of paranoia; he asked if he could come over to my place and watch me maple syrup. My wife was there. He kept looking at me, then her, waiting for an answer. It was the first time a stranger ever asked me to do anything, let alone invite himself over to my house to play. Oh, no doubt he just wanted to get closer to my wife, kill me later, and then marry her.
I auctioned off several paintings about Dan at this going away, Stuckist art party. We raised $695.00 for one of the most enthusiastic people ever to step foot into my bland habitat.
Here are some more paintings and video of dancing at the outdoor exhibition showing why, maybe why, art galleries should get to know the audience that patronizes them:)
Dan is the big guy holding a portrait of himself over his face.

danwiney.jpg

Dan Makes Country Wines 2015. Acrylic on Masonite´, 13 x 20"

DanChaos.jpg

Chaosing Hope 2015. Acrylic on canvas, 20 x 16"

DanJamaicaTumblr.jpg

Dan Went to Jamaica in 1981 2015. Acrylic on canvas, 10 x 8"

DanApples.jpg

Dan Picks Laye Apples and Eats Them 2015. Acrylic on Masonite®, 13 x 20"

DanAustin.jpg

Austin Probably Sucks 2015. Acrylic on canvas, 24 x 18"

DanKoko.jpg

Kokopelli In Through the Out Door 2015. Acrylic on Masonite®, 13 x 20"

DanBerries.jpg

Dan Picking Late August Berries 2015. Acrylic on canvas, 24 x 18"

DanStar.jpg

The Lone Star State Hung Up to Dry 2015. Acrylic on Masonite®, 13 x 20"

_DSC5669.jpg

Dan and Me at the party

Thank you Velvet Underground for gigging at our show!
Now Dance!

Sort:  

I love the painting Dan went to Jamaica, very authentic. But also I love the dancing in front of exhibition, it is something good just to let the emotion free and flow with the rhythm of music :)

You post is nominated for „Wold of xpilar“ Community Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from community page are eligible. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

I am confident this is where contemporary art exhibiting is heading. We’re human beings who love music, dance, visual art, story-telling, helping friends in need... The white-walled gallery system is for a market of thousandaires, perhaps millionaires. Anyway, it’s old school done wrong. Museums yes. They tell art stories of the past and help us to dream while digesting lunch or anticipating a fine dinner later on. Galleries for profit... Why? Open up your own doors to exhibit your freedoms, your play!
Thanks for the nomination!

 3 years ago 

Tell me honestly, did you learn ballroom dancing?

Ha! Yes!
But only a few lessons.
Actually, I have a degree in Spastic Dancing:)

 3 years ago 

Great paintings. Great music. Looks like a lot of fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67421.82
ETH 2623.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68