Going to Barcelona, Which Can Be a Big Deal for an Exploding Head

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

valencialow.jpg

Pretty Woman From Valencia Not My Wife 2022. Acrylic on canvas, 24 x 36"

In 2012 I went to France and my head exploded. At first I thought it was ghosts, wrecking havoc on my stress and timidity. I stayed in Montcambrier, a 14th century bastide on a hill with Roman roads cutting through farmer’s fields. I painted pictures and feared going to sleep in the bed provided, since every time I walked into the room, a wave of body odor from some unseen stranger upset my nose and made my hair stand on end. I set up a 10 day camp in the unheated studio in late October and barely stopped painting to eat or sleep. It was a wonderfully horror-filled experience. I didn’t speak the language and denied myself human interaction like a hermit monk. I wouldn’t even visit the bakery across the street, although the morning smells were so inviting. On my last night I was finishing up a painting of a chicken and heard the intensely loud slap of a paddle against a wall. It knocked me off my chair and I layed on the floor shivering in terror with my eyes closed, praying to any sympathetic god within earshot.
Back at home a month later, in bed sleeping, a cannon BOOM went off in my head and I thought I was dead. I went to the computer and typed “my head just exploded” and Google saved friends and family from hearing another boring ghost story about my terror-stricken trip to France.

So for this trip I’d like to keep my head from exploding. I think it will help that I’m not traveling alone, and our daughter will be in Barcelona to welcome us. I know a little Spanish, however, hearing Catalan will certainly bring some distant thunder rumbles to stressed-up neurons. I hear there’s a thriving local craft beer industry, and marijuana bars if I want to take on a seldom-used stimulant for a racing heart. Probably not a good idea. Is valium over-the-counter in Spain? Any popular tapas topped with a dollop of benzodiazepine?

This trip I’ll do whatever it takes to keep my head quiet. Roll the cannons back into the armory and lock the doors. Rose deserves a break, and a promenade with a relaxed man. Breathe peace in and anticipation out. The sun will be shining, and there’s only one life to live.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Good evening. A very interesting horror story. Beautiful painting. I hope you enjoy the beauties of Spain with your daughter. Greetings and blessings. 🙏

Yes, thank you. I promise to keep my head at a low rumble :) I look forward to our time with her.

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

Thank you!

Excellent drawing! Wow, what an interesting story, God protect you from bad ghosts. With those headaches you have to be very careful, greetings.

Thank you, and I will be careful. Though I never get headaches—just two-second explosions three times in my life:)

Very good story, I hope this trip goes much better for you and you are more relaxed. Very nice painting.

Thank you. Yes, me too. having my daughter there as tour guide will certainly help:)

I wish I was in your place right now🙃. Barcelona is one of my favorite cities. Drink lots of sangria and bring us some great art🤗

Thank you! I’ll need all the travel anxiety relievers I can get! :)

 2 years ago 

Barcelona is a busy city, quite loud and colourful! lots of fun but you need to relax into it ! hahaha!

I promise to do just that. It must be the new noises and language barrier that kicks in the flight or flight. I have zero problem in New York City, but I’ve been warmed into that for years. Very happy that our daughter is guinea pig to our travel plans. She won’t let me suffer:)

 2 years ago 

Your painting is very beautiful, it may represent what you felt on your trip to Barcelona!

I hope so. Thank you very much!

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

An honor. Thank you for reading/looking!

Beautiful painting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66937.04
ETH 3270.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74