VISITING JOHN MICHAEL KEATING´S STUDIO. California 2018steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

keaton33.jpg
John Michael showing Jason his watercolours.

Hi Steemians,
I´d love to share a story with you today that is about Steemit, Artists and Travel.

Back in 2018 I went to visit my very close friends in California. This is a place where I lived for a year many years ago and have very close links there. I try to go and visit when I can. It´s not as often as I´d like because it´s costly.
Anyway, so in 2018 I took almost two months off to spend over there. I travelled with Jason my husband and it was a great trip.
So, one evening some friend of mine decided to invite a friend of their to join us for supper. We wined and dined and had interesting and funny conversations and this is how I came to know John Michael.
John Michael has a special link to Spain and spends a lot of time in Valencia and paints there. He is an avid Blogger and writes as much or more than he paints.
Both Jason and I were very happy to have met him. In the following days he invited us over to visit his studio and what a wonderful place that is!
He lives in Grass Valley, a small town up north from Sacramento in the foothills. The town is a historical site and very well kept up, looking (to us) like a old gold rush town.
As we spoke and about this and that, I think we must have been talking about Steemit and that is when he started blogging there also.
I had lost sight of him on this platform, partly during a time when I wasn´t posting and then I think he also stopped.
But just lately I saw some posts again and was so happy to see he was back.
I think his work is really valuable and thought he would get more visibility if he posted in WOX. So I thought it might be good to show the photos I have of the day we visited his studio back in June 2018. Such a wonderful workspace.

ajmkeaton1.jpg

ajmkeaton4.jpg

keaton35.jpg

And a few corners that caught my attention.

keaton26.jpg

keating22.jpg

akeatonrobertrich.jpg

And his love for Spain!

keaton34.jpg

This is John Michael´s Blog
https://johnmichaelkeating.com/

And here are a small selection of ones I like very much. He has a very spacial sensitivity to the light.

123444484_4049400575076047_5649134710362333423_n.jpg
The House of Bernarda Lorca – Watercolor – 21 x 29 inches.

96257053_3502632943086149_7745713230432960512_n.jpg
Portrait of a Dancer - Oil on canvas - 32 x 40 inches.

86495539_3301417436541035_1047386418613059584_n.jpg
El Invitado/The Guest

Oil on canvas - 28 x 40 inches

69714080_2913249038691212_4711482461178036224_n.jpg
El Invitado/The Guest

Oil on canvas - 28 x 40 inches

46507427_2433748009974653_3814284761073975296_n.jpg
Before I Wake - Watercolor - 10 x 14 inches

John Michael Keating has a very large variety of paintings so I recommend you check on his Steemit Blog and check out his past postings. @jmkartworks

I hope you enjoyed this post.
Best wishes from Ibiza!
Romanie

http://romanie.net/
http://sunlightart.blogspot.com/

Sort:  

The picture studio that you show, my friend, is extraordinary. really a very creative activity

 3 years ago 

Yes he is! Happy you discovered his work!

Awesome works of art. I love the light in "El Invitado/The Guest" painting.

 3 years ago 

yes, aren´t they wonderful!

#wox-bestpick of the day goes to @romanie
This post is nominated by @steem-venera

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much. I hope you enjoyed the (virtual) visit to John's studio.

Hi Romanie, have seen your post this morning but was not able to write before going to work. Thank you for your wonderful post and displaying this talented artist John Michael#s work are impressive. The whole composition it is not only one topic it is a story in each of them.

I am very glad that you advised him to start posting in our community that will make him more visible for many other artists and curation trials. I will definitely drop a comment under his post :)

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 3 years ago 

Yes, John Michael´s work if great! Thank you for checking it out!

Beautiful pictures. I liked the painting most of all - a portrait of a dancer. I decided to nominate your post for the competition. https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@xpilar/nominate-and-get-rewarded-20-trial-upvote-nomination-day-21

 3 years ago 

I´m happy you enjoyed it! Thank you for the nominationª but I tried this link and it doesn´t work.

 3 years ago 

Thank you.

I tried. Works. You just have to Read the rules how to do it, that's all. I hope your post gets through to the competition. True, now there are many participants, And the prize is won, only five people.

 3 years ago 

I tried cliking on this link again and I can´t access. It says "
sorry we cant open it please return to steemit homepage"

Congratulations on winning. You are in the top five.

 3 years ago 

Wow! Thank you again @steem-venera. :-)

I do not understand why you are failing. Well, okay tomorrow I'll let you know whether it was a prize-winner or not. Although a message will come to your post if you hit the top five. Good luck . I wish you victory.

John is a great painter and also a great writer, as I have found out going through his posts. I really love it when the texts and the paintings blend into one whole, as it goes with his work!

 3 years ago 

I´m happy to hear you appreciate his work. :-)

Amazing water colour paintings. Looking quite surreal too.

 3 years ago 

yes, there is a mixture of hiperealism and dreamlike atmosphere.

 3 years ago 

Thank you, dear @romanie, for this lovely post. I often think fondly of that day you and Jason came to visit, and it's a treat to read your account of the visit.

I also would like to thank everyone who commented and took the time to have a look at my work. I really appreciate you all, and am glad if you find something you like. For more, please feel free to follow me: @jmkartworks.

 3 years ago 

Thank you, you are constantly discovering something new for me. I am very interested to read your posts.

John Michael Keating is a great talent. I liked the picture Before I Wake the most. The artist is not only a masterful drawing, technique, but also the idea of the work.

I looked at John's account, after a two-year break he published three works. Therefore, I think we have a lot of interesting things ahead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58