FOREST FIRE FIGHTING, work and art. Artists life.

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago (edited)

fire3.jpg
me back in 2009. photo taken after a fire when we were cooling off.

Hi Steemians,
this post is to introduce you to another facet of my life that has currently returned.
Between 2002 and 2011 I worked as a Forest Fire Fighter . Here in Ibiza this is a job that helped me have a lot of free time to paint and have the economical security worked out and doing something I loved also. I loved this job and got a lot of inspiration for my art through it but then in 2011 I had a bad experience in one of the fires and I decided to quit. I loved the team work, I loved the adrenaline and the whole thing but I decided I wanted to change.
I was also giving art classes to children and found vocation in this also. So I have been doing that for the past ten years combined with my own art.
But..... just this past week I got a call back from the Fire Fighting department who asked me if I wanted to return to work with them to fill in for someone who will be off work for a year. It was a big decision for me but I said yes and since last Monday I´m back in the woods working with my old mates.

fire7.jpg
Pic from 2002 when we were doing the helicopter training.

fire2.jpg
Cooling the border of an area after the fire so it doesn´t pick up again.

fire4.jpg
In the Helicopter with my companions in a practice flight.

Thing is we never have photos of when we are actually working in the fire while it´s happening because we are consumed in the necessity of the moment. All these images are from more rested moments.
Anyway, here is a pic I left fot the last which was me last Monday with the winter machinery protective gear.

157957771_2782011938707726_4540572826460404304_n.jpg
Back to the forest started on the 8th of March!

Here are some of the pieces that have been inspired by my work in the forest and the fires...

11888073_1077442888946199_4885882582989487465_n.jpg

22007311_1754720687885079_3797815646253902850_n.jpg

32239624_1998647663492379_5289653722861797376_n.jpg

But I guess that if you check out the art in my gallery in www.romanie.net going back many years you will find the forest once and again!

Also, you can go back to this link from a few years ago in Steemit where I introduced myself and did mention my past with the Forest Brigade. https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@romanie/introducing-myself

So, I hope you enjoyed seeing yet another layer of the life of an artist. It´s plural and very rich in many experiences that feed into the fact of translating life into art.
Best Wishes, Romanie

www.romanie.net

Sort:  

Hi @romanie and thank you for this wonderful post. I remember that every hot summer the countries caught in fire. Horrible to see how it spreading and destroying the nature and houses, leaving many homeless. I am really impressed with you readiness to help out on front to fire fight.
It is obvious how your Art was influenced by that experience. That is really beautiful

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

More info: visit @steemitblog post

 4 years ago 

Thank you! :-)

a1DSC03329.JPG
Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review. Support of Visual Artworks and Photogrpahy on Steem by @stef1 and @art-venture

 4 years ago 

thank you! :-)

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

 4 years ago 

Thank you Community! :-)

What a noble job @romanie. Good soul with golden heart. Every sweat is counted. Thank for sharing this with us. Keep up with great work.

 4 years ago 

Thank you for the support and encouragement!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50