You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ✍️ The Priest and The Contest-Monkey - Episodes 5 & 6: Determining Breakout Points

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

I'm only partway through, but this article is relevant and interesting: SoK: The Ghost Trilemma (I found it from here). A couple excerpts that caught my attention so far:

We posit the Ghost Trilemma, that there are three key properties of identity—sentience, location, and uniqueness—that cannot be simultaneously verified in a fully-decentralized setting.

And

Due to its inherently adversarial nature, the problem of identifying bots and bad actors online is better addressed than before through advances in adversarial machine learning.

So, what I'm imaging now is an API that monitors the chain and returns three scores for an account (see Table 1 in the document): Sentience, location, and uniqueness. Then:

  1. the curator could use that score to decide on their voting. Each curator could decide which factor(s) are more important to them.
  2. front-end operators could use that score to give placement priority to accounts with higher scores, and again, each front end could choose alternate priorities for the different factors.

Of course, there'd have to be a funding/business model. Bottom line, I think trying to keep up with the scammers with manual tools is a lost cause. Like so many things, progress depends on bringing together the right mix of funding, motivation, and skills.

Sort:  
 last year 

Bottom line, I think trying to keep up with the scammers with manual tools is a lost cause.

I agree. Especially considering that there's no consequence even when a scammer gets caught.

I wonder why so many academic papers use English words and succeed in being impossible to read.

I wonder why so many academic papers use English words and succeed in being impossible to read.

And long. There's no way that article needs to be 22 pages. Reminds me of Adam Smith including corn price tables in "The Wealth of Nations" because he was paid by the word.

I forget his name, but I saw a blogger on substack who published readable versions of his academic papers. IIRC His claim was that the reviewers demand the obfuscation, and that it's a form of elitism. I came across him writing about how his academic versions get ignored, but the readable versions were widely shared.

Just ran a few quick searches, but I didn't find him. Maybe later.

Same problem at Twitter. ;-)

image.png

 last year 

Ha ha! I really, really hope this signals the end of Captcha. There’s nothing more painful than having to decide which squares count as the bicycle.

Sadly, I doubt it. That's Google conscripting free microlabor from billions of people in order to train their image classifier. My guess is that human verification has always been secondary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36