Paper for Drawing - Ran Art BlogsteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR10 months ago

I usually use the same paper for both graphite pencil drawing and pen drawing.
This is part of my drawing paper guide.

For rough sketches or drawing with pen, I prefer a grainy paper.

armoured-personnel-carrier-pen-drawing.jpg

To draw transitions in values with a pen, it is easier on a grainy textured paper.

transitions-in-values-using-a-pen.jpg

Note:
Some paper brands have two different sides.
Usually the back side is smoother.

Canson C à grain
This paper has one grainy side, which is nice for sketching, and for texture.

monkey-wrench-drawing.jpg

Its back side is smoother, and therefore better for realism.

tiger-snake-drawing.jpg

Canson 1557

This is probably my favorite paper.
It always deliver.
Smooth, yet with a bit of texture.

canson-1557-drawing-paper.jpg

Canson XL Bristol

I like this paper too.
It is super smooth and super white.
Good for details, and for pen and markers.
Not recommended for beginners.

canson-xl-bristol-drawing-paper.jpg

Canson Mixed Media

Thick paper, and a bit grainy. I like it for sketches and for markers.

canson-mixed-media-artist-paper.jpg

Fabriano Ecological

This paper is very nice.
Smooth with some texture. I love it!

fabriano-ecological-paper.jpg

Fabriano Drawing

Fabriano drawing is quite grainy.

fabriano-1264-drawing-paper.jpg

I like it for sketching.

graphite-drawing-of-a-tree-and-pond.jpg

Arches Drawing

Arches are a quality brand, yet very gentle.
I like it less for graphite drawing.

arches-drawing-paper.jpg

I mostly use it for pen drawing.

pen-drawings.jpg

Or, for drawing maps.

map-drawing-example.jpg

For more tutorials, tips & techniques, you are welcome to visit my blog.

Ran

Website: https://ranartblog.com/
Tutorials: https://ranartblog.com/blog.html
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ran_art_blog/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/ranartblog/

Sort:  

Love this explanation of different type of paper for drawing. It is always difficult to decide what is the best and it is like a little guide.

Your post is nominated for the WOX Booming Support Programme, @booming account upvote.

DesciptionInformationScore
Club StatusClub1001
Plagiarism Free1
AI generated post1
Steemexclusive1
Bot free1
Quality content5
Total score10
Verified by@stef103/09/23

 

Only the posts that are original, not cross-posted and posted from the Xpilar community page are nominated. If your post gets an approval, then you get an upvote within a few days.
 
Good luck! @stef1
 
wox.PNG

 10 months ago 

Thank you very much.
I too wish it was easier. Like one paper to rule them all :o)
It depends on the task.
There are some favorites though.

Where have you been for so long?

 10 months ago 

OMG, I was working on this new article. And, teaching 6 days a week.
And, separated from my girlfriend.
Now, I need to work on this new article, which is complex (torus).

I wish you the strength to overcome the difficulties in writing an article. Well, about the girlfriend... When I was young, I was also upset when I broke up with my girlfriend. Now I look at her and realize that it was a blessing that she left!

Women should stand in line so that you pay your attention to them, you are such a prominent man! 😂😂😂

 10 months ago 

Thank you for the kind words.
Sometimes it feels like surviving, but I am trying to make sure I am on the right track.
And, not to forget to enjoy it, and be happy with what I have.

The first drawing of the APC, Armored Personnel Carrier, is really good @ranartblog.

 10 months ago 

Thank you very much. I love anything military or weapons :o)

I do as well :)

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

 10 months ago 

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44