Oryx in Desert Oil Painting - Ran Art Blog - LANDSCAPE/SEASCAPE PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #148steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

Oryx in desert oil painting on canvas - 90/60 cm.

oryx-oil-painting.jpg

Sort:  

I think that after the publication of this picture, many computer monitors suffered, because if an avid hunter sees this antelope, he will immediately rush to the safe for a gun and start hunting :). A wonderful picture that immerses us in the life of the African savannah. Antelope in the golden ratio looks great.

 last year 

Thank you very much :o)
The painting of the sky was such a struggle for some reason.
I had to do it 3 times till I was happy. And each time it covered more of the oryx sketch. But I managed to do it.

Have you oiled the sky three times? I want to try working with oil more and more :)

 last year 

Because the sky take so much space, and the canvas is huge (for me), 90/60 cm, I used a big brush.

hogbrush.jpg

Trying to make a smooth transition in values.

The top of the sky is darker (light blue) due to Rayleigh scattering, but at the bottom they become lighter, due to Mie scattering.

My painting style is smooth (not with brush marks), so I also use a brush for smoothing.
For example, goat hair (as opposed to the brushes above from hog hair).

goatbrush.jpg

Fan brushes can also be used for smoothing, though I like them less.

fanbrushes.jpg

And, hog hair is kinda rough.
I also have fan brushes from synthetic hair (the type of bristles I like for a gentle touch).

synthetic-fan-brushes.jpg

So I had to wait for the first layer to get harden (oil paints do not dry, they get hard, due to oxidation, and polymerization), or clean it with paper towels or a piece of cloth, and try again and again, until I get the smooth result I want, yet with a smooth transition, and the right color (not too saturated).

I'll definitely remember this, we'll see. maybe one day I'll try to work with oils, I wonder what will come of it :).

 last year 

For any medium you choose (even digital), having a good basis in drawing is the key. And you have. So, you will succeed. It will take a bit of time, but you will.

For now, only the financial part of the question stops me, but as soon as such happiness happens, I will go to the store for oil .... but, for sure, after the war, otherwise, if, suddenly, I have to take my family to evacuation, it will be a pity to part with easels, paints and paintings :).

 last year 

Indeed. Oil painting is expensive. Before the easel and everything else, the colors themselves are expensive.

Nice. Just like a photo.

 last year 

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63295.30
ETH 3053.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70