Colonel Sam Trautman - Ran Art Blog - PORTRAIT PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #106steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

My entry to portrait art context, week 106.

Colonel Sam Trautman, special forces, army.

Played by Richard Crenna (1926 – 2003) in the Rambo film series.

sam-trautman-drawing.jpg

Done with graphite pencils on a Bristol paper sheet, A4.

Sort:  

Nice work, congratulations. :))

 2 years ago 

Thank you :)

 2 years ago 

Good job, but I'm confused by the colonel's neck... I have a feeling that it is made of fabric. But these are just my feelings. I like his look.

 2 years ago 

He has a t-shirt below the regular shirt.
It a screen shot from the movie, which was in the 80's, so there were not enough details.
I did my best to work with this awful reference, because the character has so much personality.

 2 years ago 

I'm not talking about the dark T-shirt that peeks out at the bottom of his neck, but about the neck itself... how it looks like :)

 2 years ago 

Oh, I understand.
His skin, neck and face was a real challenge due to poor quality of the image.
But so were the eyebrows, lips and other things. I guess some things look strange, as long as the big picture is ok :)

 2 years ago 

But after all, an artist can correct what he considers mistakes or the result of poor quality of the original. Unless he is engaged in exact copying.

 2 years ago 

Indeed, it is all artistic license. No details to work with. That is the best I could do in this case.
I guess I should have been more gentle when I drew the neck.

 2 years ago 

You should know better than me, I'm just a photographer :)

 2 years ago 

Still, you are a person, nothing should bother you in the drawing.
If something is not fully understood, or looks strange, it is on me.
As I tell my students, do not confuse the observer, so they can focus on the subject or scene you are drawing or painting.

Really great job with this @ranartblog.

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much!

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52