Close Up Photo of A Rare African Frog Species

IMG_20221221_130729_2.jpg
Photo Source: Tecno Pop2.

Good day dear friends. Today I present to you a photograph of a rare African frog species. I took this photograph at a swamp in the Niger-Delta region in the southern part of Nigeria.

It was high noon and really hot weather so I guess the amphibian was resting out of water on a banana tree leaf enjoying the shade cast on it by taller brackish water plants.

I honestly do not know the exact species or genera to which this frog belongs but I know it's a very rare species. I've seen it less than a dozen times despite having lived more than 40 years in the riverine Niger-Delta region of southern Nigeria.

It reminds me of some very poisonous species of South American frogs amongst wish number the Poison Arrow Frog so named after the tradition of native Indians whom laced their arrowheads with the poisonous exudates from the back of the poisonous amphibians.

From my little knowledge on Biology I learned that brightly coloured frogs were often toxic and it's nature's own way of warning off would be predators. I can only make a guess from the above hypothesis that the frog I captured above is likely a poisonous frog like it's brightly coloured south American species.

It wasn't easy capturing the little guy on my phone camera. Had to take multiple shots as shown below but I saved the close up for my heading.
IMG_20221221_130645_7.jpgPhoto Attempt 3.

IMG_20221221_130628_8.jpg
Photo Attempt 2

IMG_20221221_130618_8.jpg
Photo Attempt 1

I'll be glad if any good student of biology here can help me out with the biological information on this species with regards to it's order, genera and species.

I do hope you enjoyed my pictures of a rare African species of frog. Thanks for your time and I wish you all a fun time. Happy holidays.

Sort:  
 last year 

These are beautiful photos. I too would assume it is poisonous, even though I do not know it.

Thanks for response. Most frogs are poisonous most especially the brightly coloured ones so it's highly probable this one is poisonous. Happy Holidays.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66650.28
ETH 3590.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.96