starlings, ouzel, coot and grebe duckssteemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago (edited)

IMG_1283w2.jpg

I finally edited the pictures I took last week in a local park (St.Petersburg, Russia). We dont have fancy oreole or colibri here, starlings and male ducks are being the most colorful ones you can watch (and take the pics of). I can make a long list of what there isnt.. but its no point ;)

So, some starlings, young baby ouzel, grebe ducks -- all the photos are hires-clickable.

A cropped close-up portrait. Note some left-over baby feathers on the head. So funny!

IMG_1283w.jpg


The pictures above were captured with 300mm tele, which I later changed to macro 150mm. And by the end of the walk, when the camera was already holstered and we were at the park's exit -- I noticed one more starling baby. I decided not to change the lens one more time, so these (below) were captured with 150mm macro. Happily, he let me come close enough.

IMG_1804w2.jpg

On this 1st pic you can see his legs -- really looks like a grown-up chicken to me. Very funny associations! Not sure if that is the same one as I shoot 2 hours before. But quite possible!

IMG_1806w1.jpg


Few more starlings pics from that day. Oh, and did you know they are also being named as 'English sparrows' ?

IMG_1495w.jpg

You may notice the lichens on the trees that I come to photo at this abandoned orchard. There are a plenty of them here ;)

IMG_1496w.jpg

This one posed me non-stop, let me come close and didnt intend to fly away at all: he was too much into singing, to give me any attention ;) And he was sitting at the very same spot but changing his position all of the time, like he really was a posing model. It benefitted the pictures greatly. Thanks a lot, my little feathered friend!

IMG_1518w.jpg

His iridiscent neck is really gorgeous, being exposed to the sun beams.


American coot ducks are quite usual at our area, too. They do not tend to pose at all, and dont let you come close. But the situation changes when they sit on the eggs!

IMG_1005w.jpg

And they have fantastic legs -- very hard to shoot properly, cause they always are hided away, when she is nest-sitting or swimming. These gigantic (!) legs provide huge benefits in terms of fast swimming.

IMG_1128w.jpg

IMG_1072w1.jpg


Noticed the 1st little ducklings, fllowed and guarded by her proud mummy.

IMG_1412w.jpg

...and a dreaming daddy.

IMG_1004w.jpg

...and magnificent Grebe ducks -- they are quite rare, but one pair used to create their nests at the same spot in the reeds in the local park... just my luck to know about that hideaway!

IMG_1039w.jpg


Hope you like this little birding walk with me.

all the images taken by me, Canon 5D + 300mm tele was used.
location: St.Petersburg, Russia

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

This publication has been taken into account in My Weekly Selection to be supported with an extra bonus from Steem and/or SBD.

World Of Pilar appreciates your effort to create quality content.

WEEKLY SUPPORT 2.png

 4 years ago 

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

thanks, appreciated !

Чудесные:)

В середине поста лишние строчки - "Результаты поиска. Все результаты" - убери:)

aга, сделано!

!trdo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73