St.Petersburg tube - Obvodny channel station

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

My entry to 'Photo of the week' challenge by @mister-omortson — week #66; the prompt was 'Station'...

Photo is clickable for high-res.

2021-apr-2111w-s.jpg

location: SPb, Russia April 2021 lamp lighting
camera/lens: Canon 5D 16-35mm 2.8L raw-conv
f 2.8 t 1/40 ISO 320

Cheers! It's a sin to miss out on the "Photo of the Week" contest with such a rich theme as "Station". Here travel, architecture, street genre, and in general... A rich topic, in a word, are being pulled up! Since last year I devoted time to the design of metro stations - both in St. Petersburg and in Moscow - I really have something to show, and the most difficult thing is choosing the best card.

In the photo above you see the "Obvodny Canal", one of the fairly new tube stations of St.Petersberg (it was launched in December 2010). The design created for it and its technological implementation are very interesting and deserve a separate story. I hope to tell it some day.

Приветствия! Грех пройти мимо конкурса "Фото недели", имея такую богатую тему как "Станция". Тут подтягиваются и путешествия, и архитектура, и стрит-жанр, и вообще... Богатая тема, одним словом! Поскольку я в прошлом году я уделил время дизайну станций метрополитена - как в СПб, так и в Москве - мне действительно есть что показать, и самым трудным становится выбор самой лучшей карточки.

На фото выше - "Обводный канал", довольно новая станция (открыта в декабре 2010 г). Разработанный для нее дизайн и технологическое исполнение заслуживают отдельного рассказа. Когда-нибудь.


Below is #2 x-processed edition of this photo. Clickable.

2021-apr-2111w-s2.jpg

This was my entry to 'Photo of the week' challenge by @mister-omortson — week #66; the prompt was 'Station'...

sep1201.png

Thanks for the visit!
BLOG is set to 100% powerup, as always.
All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Welcome back my friend @qwerrie I missed seeing your stunning photography here in the WORLD OF XPILAR. I find @mister-omortson's station topic inspiring too and I also plan not to miss entering this photo contest. Have a lovely day and see you around.

Ah, yes... we have wintertime with all this cold and snow and dirt and humidity... winters are unbearable where I live (most of the time), and photographers like me actually SUFFER from it a lot. I mean, with the tiny light day I have no opportunity and willing to go out and shoot something... except of a few decorations and night photography. And I am actually fed up with it. If you look at my account you will see I was posting mostly mushrooms from my archives. No fresh photos, no inspiration, etc. Besides that... all the new curational 'experiments' with 50, 75, 100 club etc -- this actually gave me an extra frustration and discrimination feeling.

And please I am curious how are you? Does your posting on this blockchain brought you some blooming and satisfying fruitful results, that you deserved?.. feel free to tell me. 🤗

 2 years ago 

Oh dear. I feel for you. We have no snow here in London. It is five degrees Celsius right now which counts as very cold. The sun is out though and the light is good. I totally agree that winter isn't the best time for photography with the days being so short. It is dark already when I finish work. I exercise and sometimes work in the garden with a LED beanie on. I take photos during my lunch break which I can be quite flexible on when to take it. Every weekend I still get up early and I spend most of the days out in the parks, galleries and museums. I also photo the food which I cook at home and eat out. This is how I keep up with fresh content during the winter months but yes, it is quite mild over here compared to what you guys get over there. I got a ready-to-grow white mushroom kit and I started the project on the fifth of January. The mushrooms grow in a big box and it shouldn't take more than twenty-four days for the first harvest. I just sprayed them as they love it moist.

#club5050 works for me. I was able to and I still am growing my account. I am also a Queen Commenter here in the WORLD OF XPILAR. There is currently a team of ten top commenters both photographers and artists. I love commenting as this is another way for me to get to know more of the Steemians here and support their posts. We now also have The Blogosphere Magazine which @o1eh issues and it highlights what is new and worth mentioning in our community. I also play fantasy football here in WOX. If this is something you are interested in you can still join The Steemit Fantasy Premier League Last but not least @coding-gorilla is redesigning Steemit's landing page. Unfortunately the price of Steem is down now which is not great for any of us here but I expect that it will go back up once Bitcoin goes up. Cheers and have a lovely day my friend.

oh, how could I did not notice your new title! Queen Commenter is cool, and you really are!

totally understood what you described about your photography minutes during the breakfast. I name it 'available photography'. my best session this year happened in the morning (already during the light day), it was sunny and I ventured into doing macros of frozen berries (and postponed coming to my office by 3 hours! happily, my new job is loyal, and I could afford it -- tho I am not a boss, no way). but... it was a rare, exceptional case.

about the price of STEEM: yes, it is indeed tied to bitcoin like a string, when BTC grows, stim will also get heavier. I really hope that this will not take years...

a good thing, that community is alive and has some DRIVE!

 2 years ago 

Thank you ever so much my friend and happy Friday! I do like the term available photography. I am a fan of crazy macros which I never take too many of as it is quite tricky to put them to good use. Frozen berries sound cool. I just saw the post you meant and the photo is certainly gorgeous. It will look great being a part of a yearly calendar illustrating the month of January for instance. New job certainly sounds exciting! More and more companies became more open to flexible hours worked even remotely due to the pandemic. Maybe one day you will be the boss.

People predicted the crypto winter which I do hope will be followed by spring and especially summer. The WORLD OF XPILAR community is full of positive vibes and there is a lot going on. Not sure if you saw the latest update @steemitblog on how curation will work in the future. This is something I really care about so we ensure the active authors and quality posts are supported.

"crypto winter"? like, a little sleep before the next blossom?..

if you saw the latest update @steemitblog on how curation will work in the future.

i did not read original, but have read translation of this manifest made by RU community... Since I delerate to "wrong" accounts I am deprived of opportunity to apply myself to this 'experimental' 50-75-100 party. so, this new 'initiative' has no sense for me either, non-applicable. Will not cure my frustration and all other moments included...

 2 years ago 

image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66687.47
ETH 3486.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19