hunting for ducklings (with telephoto eye) - 16 foto

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

Recently I managed to establish a regular walks to the local park with my stubborn growing almost-teenager-babygirl on weekends, we take wheat bread to feed birdies, and I arm myself with a telephoto lens (I own a cheap ordinary 70-300mm Canon, nothing special). It is not great, but enough for getting some pics of the shy birdies that dont are not willing to come closer, even being suggested a treats...

IMG_4930w.jpg

So, recently I got tonns of new photos of ducks, pigeons, sparrows...

Today I am sharing some duck and ducklings pics.

IMG_4949w.jpg

This is how the park look like - the bank part located near the pond.

IMG_4784w.jpg

Yesterday I have posted a few starlings captures (much more to come in the next posts, after I apply some post-production). Starlings are really handsome nature's editions! But the greatest thing, that happened during this recent walk, was that we witnessed a lot of ducklings (this year new edition). And also I have witnessed (and captured) a beautiful set of four pigeons having a bath. Hope to share it in the community soon. It was very spectacular.

IMG_4816w.jpg

Ofc we checked the hatchings of grebe and coot ducks (they are still there, no chicks arrived yet), feeded to starlings and pigeons all the bread we had with us, and - voyla! - we noticed the common ducks have got the ducklings. We enjoyed meeting, watching and feeding 3 or 4 families. The last of them was only one baby; one woman passing by told us it were two babies a few days ago... probably one already didnt survived the life. What a cruel world.

IMG_4938w.jpg

But generally - the population goes on. Ducks are not going to die out and do not threaten to disappear from the face of the Earth.

IMG_4852w.jpg

This was the 1st duck family we noticed. They were not willing to accept our food and pose, and sloly drifted away into the reeds -- leaving us with not much great photos.

IMG_4853w1.jpg

A few cropped sections of the photo above.

IMG_4853w2.jpg

Those youngsters are so cute!!

IMG_4853w3.jpg

My baby note their beak and consider - imagine! - that all of them are smiling at her!

IMG_4856w2.jpg

Ducks are known to feed on algae, stuff of this kind; they also willingly eat bread. But not this time - they ignored the abandoned pieces of bread (one can be seen in the photo), drifting into the reeds, where young ducklings began to look for food. I'm probably wrong, but it's possible that our food got in the way - we showed up right in the middle of a lesson teaching children how to find food for themselves ... we humans, with our package of bread, are not included in the training course ...

IMG_4859w.jpg

Как известно, утки питаются водорослями, стафф такого рода; хлеб они тоже охотно поедают. Но не в этот раз - брошенные кусочки хлеба (на фото можно увидеть один) они игнорировали, дрейфуя в тростники, где молодые утята начали искать себе пропитание. Я возможно ошибаюсь, но возможно что наше угощение помешало - мы явились как раз посредине урока, обучающего деток как искать себе еду... мы, люди, с нашим пакетом хлеба не входим в учебный курс....

IMG_4862w.jpg

IMG_4867w.jpg

Below is another duck family we met.

IMG_4955conv.jpg

This time they accepted our food delivery service!

IMG_4956w2.jpg

Ducklings with our treats, maybe my fave capture of that day; my babygirl approved the choice!

IMG_5084w.jpg

location: St.Petersburg, Russia May 2021 natural lighting
camera/lens: Canon 5D 70-300mm raw-conv.

Thanks for visiting my blog!
BLOG is set to 100% powerup, as always.
All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
Sort:  

Super cool

Grazie Mille!

You're welcome

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 11.78% Upvote. Send 0.5 SBD or STEEM to @steemvote

You captured beautiful pictures of those ducks and your teenage daughter.

thank you! glad you enjoy the visuals.

Very nice shots!! Sharp lens!

 3 years ago 

Ваш пост приглянулся модератору @mister-omortson


Up.jpg




so cute we have so many here on the canal, there was a whole little bunch of goslings but they all seem to have died :(

uh..... why they did not survive, do you have any idea why so?..

we have no goose at all here where I live. a pity. last time I saw them in my childhood! heh...

sorry my bad i meant cygnets. They are trying to work out and do wonder if the canal is just too dirty :(

ah! and it is, right?..

sorry went between my regular and photography page then lol i try and separate the two.

I appreciated your photography page. do not have any sufficient fashion beauty portrait sessions in my folio, tho I love the janre as well.

I try to seperate as i feel that the fashion photography is so juxtaposed with the spiritual art unless i accidentally post wrong, which happens occsaionally. I havn't done any photographer since the march before last and the beginning of covid! i had a wedding postponed three times already!!!

oh sh.... one same wedding, postponed 3 times? damn, too bad. I wonder how mankind and economy will overgo this sh.... heh. I spent 14 months totally jobless (was unlucky to leave my previous job on January 1 - right before the sh... started - can you imagine that? just my bad luck )

so, Steem to the Moon and all this stuff. really hope it will bring us somewhere (in terms of payout). btw - I am also on Hive. things look like more charming on that blockchain.

do you do photography as a job or hobby?x

 3 years ago (edited)

thats a hobby, a passion to images :) my occupation is prepress engineer / book designer, I love to watch images, love to improve / process them / even doing the dewatermark things, hehe. stuff like that.

but i've got a full frame canon and a decent arsenal of lenses, thats quite pro. I just didnt managed to sell anything. (tried Adobe stocks only, up to date - with zero sales. I consider, maybe I came too late to this train). cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52