coot ducks (more)

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

Photo is clickable for high-res.

IMG_7828w-s.jpg

location: St.Petersburg, Russia May 2022 natural lighting
camera/lens: Canon 5D 70-200mm 2.8L raw-conv
f 2.8 t 1/640 ISO 250

I continue to explore the possibilities of my new expensive lens. Today I checked the nearest nest of coot ducks known to me: I want to not miss the moment when the chicks appear! They are very picturesque, with red fluff collars (as far as I know from other people's photographs!). Eggs and mother hen in place, no chicks yet...

So, instead of the wanted chicken I took a portrait of a preoccupied expectant mother. Of course, the close-up came out great, however... its long end - 200mm - is definitely not enough for bird hunting, my today's photos confirm this clearly. They turned so good only cause I managed to get within a meter of the nest.

Я продолжаю изучать возможности моего нового дорогого объектива. Сегодня я проверил ближайшее известное мне гнездо уток-лысух: хочу не пропустить момент появления птенцов! Они весьма живописные, с воротниками из красного пуха (насколько я знаю по чужим фотографиям!). Яйца и наседка на месте, птенцов еще нет...

Не отказал себе в удовольствии и сделал портрет озабоченной будущей мамы. Конечно, близкий план вышел замечательно, однако... длинный конец - 200мм - для птичьей охоты мало, совершенно недостаточно, и мои сегодняшние фотографии это подтверждают. Просто я смог подобраться к гнезду на расстояние меньше метра!


IMG_7831w-s.jpg

In Russian, this birdie name is "coot", that means "baldy". Why so? just look at its head decoration, and everything will immediately become clear to you.

IMG_7853w-s.jpg

sep1201.png

Thanks for the visit!
BLOG is set to 100% powerup, as always.
All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58