amber caterpillar (9 macros)steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago (edited)

My 2nd entry to Xpilar macro photography contest.

Правила конкурса:

  • только собственные работы.
  • только первая публикация на Стимите - не копипейст материала с других платформ.
  • используйте теги #contest #steemexclusive #macrophotography.
  • добавьте к фото комментарий (минимум 500 слов).
  • редактирование фото разрешено (в нормальных пределах).
  • оставьте ссылку на ваш пост в комментарии к объявлению конкурса.
  • конкурс продлится неделю, можно делать новый пост каждый из 7 дней.
  • тема этой недели - "Насекомые".

2020dacha0618ws.jpg

location: Russian countryside June 2020 natural light
camera/lens: Canon 350D Tamron 60mm raw-conv
f/2.8 t 1/200 ISO 400 no editing

2020dacha0613ws.jpg

And now let me tell the story behind it. I captured this series of photos this Summer. As my main camera (5d) was broken almost from the start, during the first week on my summer vacations life, I used my spare Canon 350D camera, equipped with Tamron 60mm macro lens (usually, with the full-frame, I use a different dedicated lens - Sigma 150mm).

2020dacha0612ws.jpg

This caterpillar I found at my village place, when I was working with showel in the garden. Happily, the camera was not far away, and this insect isnt as fast and smart, as some butterfly or beetles. It was not sitting stil, actually, always was trying to hide back into the ground. Therefore, it changed a lot of positions, and in the end it looked like its posing me :)


0614w.jpg
One more frame from the set. View from the top of the head. The soil was well lit with direct sunlight (ideal for macro shoot). And I had this contrast between the black soil, and the golden-amber-yellow color of a caterpillar. It all benefitted to the pictures.

2020dacha0626ws.jpg

Now, the key word: what is the name of this creature, whats it iD to know it better ?.. The answer is: I dont know!!! But I have strong suspicions its a larvae for some very well-spread butterfly, or maybe a beetle. When I was digging ground, I found a lot of copies of the same specie. So, I figure out it must be something ordinary and well-spread! Not something unique. Actually, I will be grateful if some of the insects experts will correct and direct me, in this certain identifying request. A huge thanks in advance!!!

2020dacha0633w.jpg

Now I am into macro ophotography for two years already (with a little tail), I am sonstantly raising up my level... and so far I totally understood a thing: macrophotography is a lot about working with light, like it was back 100 years ago. If you have no sun (i.e. no light) and you do not use external flash (like me), you will be getting no intresting result. Look, how the soil was lit here from aside by the sun beams, making it a perfect, magic texture background. I think this is, what makes this photo intresting.

2020dacha0655w.jpg
On this photo from aside, you can see clearly its tail!


2020dacha0617w2.jpg

And the last frame -- view from the bottom. Normally I dont took pics like this... but this time it just happened, as it changed her position all of the time. After that I finished the session, and let the creature to go to rest. It performed a lot of posing work for me!

2020dacha0617w1.jpg


Thanks for visiting my blog!
All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
Post is set to 100% powerup, as always

Конкурсы организованы @steemitblog, @steemcurator01, @steemcurator02, спасибо за поддержку!

Sort:  

NEW CONTEST 2021
THE WORLD OF XPILAR - MACRO PHOTOGRAPHY

Hai @qwerrie

Thank you for giving your entry in the contest
We are currently checking the Post Contest
Types of Insects - Beetle | Caterpillar

We hope you become a winner
The spirit of 2021

Contest Committee | World Of Xpilar Community

а ведь где-то эту штуку наверняка едят. так что фотки ещё можно в сообществе о еде попробовать опубликовать ))))

гыыыыы. скажете тоже. туда только про местные сельпо, рестораны, и "что я сам готовлю дома". остальное несъедят-с.сообщество о еде -- лучшее сообщество на стимите! (бледная калька турецкоподданного с роскошной и блиставшей когда-то группы @tasteem)

Фотографии прелесть!

Мерси!

This post has been upvoted by @steemcurator06 who curates “The Community of Three Countries: Ukraine — Russia — Belarus” with the support of the Steem Community Curation Project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62416.00
ETH 2447.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62