a dreaming snail?

in WORLD OF XPILAR4 years ago

Do the snails have dreams?

Actually I do not know correct answer, all sources I have read didnt spill any light on this (quite a special, I admit!) question. But animals do sleep not like us, humans, their sleep (generally) is shorter and more discrete, and sometimes its a half-sleep or even quarter-sleep, or a sleepy condition (whatever this mean).

Here go a few macros from tonight's evening shoot (I added a bit more light processing the .raws, and I used a long exposure -- but you can rely on my words, it was an evening, not any other part of the day!).

IMG_6512w1.jpg

So, what is so special with this common well-spread land grape snail? It curved its head and put it upon the shell, and it really, really looked very relaxed, like it is having a rest from all day works. A sleep, or half-sleep, but it wasnt moving anywhere, just rested and -- I thought it maybe A Sleep? Of course, if the snails do sleep at all.

6511w  sleeping_snail.jpg
This image became a special for me, hope you enjoyed it too!

IMG_6512w2.jpg

location: Russian countryside June 2020 natural lighting
camera/lens: Canon 350D Tamron 60mm raw-conv
f 2.5 t 1/25 ISO 400

As a bonus, one more image: we spent 4 or maybe more hours in a company with this unidentified (yet) nice insect. Can you believe it?! From the start we very careful and hold our breating, considering it can take off in every second, but later understand that it is not going anyway -- maybe it was injured, or too frozen, or just finished its life cycle... I really dont know the right answer to this riddle! But at least I used the time for getting some macro shots. Unfortunately, I have some decent sun light glimpses only in the end of the session, so the slender evening light didnt give me too much chances for excellence...anyway. Enjoy the little preview teaser, the rest will follow soon.

IMG_6448w.jpg


Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Reminds me the usual pose of a sleeping cat actually :D But very unusual for a snail...


World of Xpilar Community Moderator

But very unusual for a snail...

yes, exactly what attracted me! @axeman
я моментально сделал охотничью стойку и сбегал за камерой, даром что был вечер и темно. никогда не видал у улитки такой хари ))))

!trdo

 4 years ago 

Красавчег!

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Thank you for your posting on Steemit.
Keep following @steemitblog for new challenges every week.
Вас поддержал куратор русского сообщества.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82