Work in progress - My Pastel Drawing of a Pink Flamingo.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

0.jpg

Hi everyone! 😊

Let me show you my current drawing project.

As my last pastel drawing goes back some time now - and as animals has always been my favorite subject to draw, I wanted to make a pastel drawing of one of these.

Birds seemed to be a good research point, as they are so magnificent, and their bright colors render well in dry pastel.
So, after many hesitations (I'll probably do another bird I had in mind some other time), I have chosen to draw the Pink Flamingo.

https://pixabay.com/fr/photos/flamant-rose-nature-zoo-oiseau-3807666/?download

Then, I had to choose the color of my paper.

With my drawing block Pastelmat, I had to choice between 4 colors : white, peach, brown and dark grey.
I have chosen the last one, because I thought the bright pink color of the flamingo would stand out well on the paper.

1.jpg

My technique is to begin by putting a base layer of pastel on my paper, a color close to the paper so that it fits well, and then the following layers will adhere much better and blend well.
It is a bit like oil painting, for which we put a base coat on the canvas so that the paint glides on well.

Here, I had to do that too because of the texture of the paper. If I don't do this, my drawing will look very grainy, a bit like chalk.

Bannière3.png

Then, all that's left to me is to finish it! 😉
I can't wait to show you the final result 😄

See you soon!

Sort:  

That looks so beautiful, actually at this stage it seems like the Flamingo is in shadow and only it is his head is highlighted with sun. I am pretty sure will be great work!

 2 years ago 

Thank you, and yes it's true, we could believe in a shadow effect ! 😄

it is incredibly well done.

 2 years ago 

Thanks. 😊

Beautiful work in progress! I wish you much success, I want to see the final result.

 2 years ago 

Thank you! You will see it very soon 😉

 2 years ago 

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by Blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

join the World of Xpilar Curation Trail, info can be found here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62352.72
ETH 2953.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62