Feliz día de muertos! 💀

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

0.jpg

Hi everyone! 😄

For the mexican celebration Día de los Muertos, I made an illustration of a "Calavera" which are decorated skull figurines.

The Day of the Dead (Spanish: Día de Muertos or Día de los Muertos) is a holiday traditionally celebrated on November 1 and 2, though other days, such as October 31 or November 6, may be included depending on the locality.
It largely developed in Mexico, where it is mostly observed, but also in other places, especially by people of Mexican heritage elsewhere.
Although related to the simultaneous Christian remembrances for Hallowtide, it has a much less solemn tone and is portrayed as a holiday of joyful celebration rather than mourning.
The multi-day holiday involves family and friends gathering to pay respects and to remember friends and family members who have died. These celebrations can take a humorous tone, as celebrants remember funny events and anecdotes about the departed.

Bannière3.png

I first heard about this celebration thanks to the animation film "Coco" by Disney-Pixar. If you didn't see it yet, I highly recommend it.

In Santa Cecilia, Mexico, Miguel dreams of becoming a musician, even though his family strictly forbids it. His great-great-grandmother Imelda was married to a man who left her and their daughter Coco to pursue a career in music, and when he never returned, Imelda banished music from her family's life before starting a shoemaking business.


image.png

In our occidental cultures, we see death in a very negative view, we represent it by black or grey colours,...
It is for this reason that I appreciate Los Muertos, I found the principle of celebrating death in a joyful and colourful way very beautiful.

Process

1.jpg

At the beginning, I made a sketch of the skull.

2.jpg

Then, I put the major colors. I first choose to give it a white contouring to contrast it.

3.jpg

Finally I paint the patterns and flowers with a textured brush, to give a paint effect on the skull.

0.jpg

And then, I wanted to give more contrasts, so I put shadows on and below the skull. I also added some shades of pink at the right of it.

Bannière3.png

Hope you will like it! 😉

See you soon for others creations, and...

Feliz dia de muertos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67544.78
ETH 3225.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65