Spiš markets

In this post, I would like to introduce you to an event that takes place every year in our city, in Spišská Nová Ves. These are the Spiš markets and together with the Kežmar craft markets, it is the biggest event in Spiš. It is a tradition that is already 642 years old. In 1380, the town of Spišská Nová Ves received the right to organize free weekly markets.

IMG_8687.jpg

This tradition continues and every year we have markets from Thursday to Sunday. It is an opportunity to meet with family and friends. Taste good beer, wine or mead. However, there are also food stalls here, and from langoustines or waffles, you can enjoy sausages or various grilled specialties. For me, markets are not markets until I have a langoustine and a beer.

IMG_8670.jpg

There is a program on the main stage all day. During the day, theaters, historical fencing groups, or concerts of folk groups perform on stage. In the early evening, they are replaced by concerts of various bands of Slovak popular music, followed by a disco in the square.

IMG_8686.jpg

Both streets around the square are lined with stalls. One can really find all kinds of things here. From the works of skilled craftsmen, through music on CDs, healthy food and clothing to various sweets. This is what children enjoy the most. Of course, I can't forget the toys and especially the balloons. You see many of them just flying through the air after flying away from their owners.

IMG_8678.jpg

In addition to sweets, toys and balloons, children will have fun on the merry-go-rounds. It is a great experience to see their happy, smiling faces when they board their favorite carousel. This year, our three-year-old daughter enjoyed the merry-go-round to the fullest, as the last two years the markets were canceled due to the covid-19 disease. But I think you made up for it.

IMG_8679.jpg

But merry-go-rounds are not just for children. My favorite carousel is toy cars. My friends and I used to sit in four or five cars and play wreckers. This time I went to the toy cars with my daughter and we went as politely as possible and tried to avoid all the bumps. Except for one, we succeeded.

IMG_8706.jpg

My wife was intrigued by this Booster. I was on it once in the past and I didn't care, the whole world was spinning with me. So she persuaded her future sister-in-law and they went to enjoy the ride.

IMG_8653.jpg

In addition, we met a lot of acquaintances and friends at the markets whom we have not seen for a long time. In short, it is an all-round event.

IMG_8712.jpg

The children went crazy, we also had fun in our own way and we walk home satisfied.

well thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63893.57
ETH 2528.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65