Lost Rainforest

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

If you happen to be in Dartmoor National Park or why not plan a trip there, make sure to call in Wistman’s Wood known as England’s Lost Rainforest. Once in the area you can also have a look at an ancient stone clapper bridge. Yes, there’s a bit more to Dartmoor than just the ponies, which I will also show you photos of in another post. I usually end up following Dartmoor ponies in all sorts of weather and then I’m back to the car barely recognisable, covered in mud, soaked, you name it but proud with the photos I took.

DSC_0628.JPG
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 400
Shutter Speed: 1/80 Aperture: f/3.6

There is a free, quite small car park just at the start of the trail. So be prepared to leave your vehicle just at the side of the road or park at the hotel opposite.

IMG_1561.jpg
Camera: Iphone 12 Lens: Iphone 12 Back Dual Wide 1.55, 4.2,1.6,2.4
ISO: 32 Shutter Speed: 1/4000 Focal Length: 4.2mm

The walk to the woods took under an hour. It is an easy stroll which lets you admire stunning views. Make sure you are in full waterproof gear as out here on the moor you can get all four seasons in just one day. No exaggeration. You can’t get lost or not find the woods as you just have to keep walking towards that green giant hedgehog looking bunch of trees.

DSC_0629.JPG
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 400
Shutter Speed: 1/80 Aperture: f/3.6

Usually when I arrive somewhere for the first time I always ask my travel companions what are their first impressions. This time I didn’t even have to. Funny enough there was a woman reading a heavy Bible like book sitting on a tree and her dog was waiting impatiently nearby. I get it. The dog’s behaviour I mean.

DSC_0626.JPG
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 400
Shutter Speed: 1/80 Aperture: f/3.6

The oak trees here are what’s left of the ancient woodland which covered Dartmoor around 7000 BC. They are all covered in various types lichen and soft and furry moss. There isn’t a path inside the woods so if you care to explore a bit you end up climbing over giant stones feeling like a dinosaur!

DSC_0615.JPG
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 400
Shutter Speed: 1/125 Aperture: f/3.6

Sort:  

Awesome forest! You have taken some great photos there!

 3 years ago 

Thank you ever so much @zorank I am glad that you like it 🌳 It is a special enchanted forest indeed 🧚‍♀️

 3 years ago 

Amazing place. Once I am hitchhiking through the UK (once in the distant future), I'll visit it :) Cornwall is a must-visit British region, as I know.

 3 years ago 

It is a special place indeed 🌍 I am really looking forward to your UK trip 🇬🇧@datych You know me, I’ll organise bits and bobs for you and I will gladly join you for at least part of your journey. Cornwall’s fantastic, far from London unfortunately and a pain to get to and drive around there. But once there, it’s totally worth it. I’ve got a friend of a friend who actually married a Cornish postman and moved out there. They didn’t end up living in Cornwall for long though. I didn’t even manage to pay her a visit there. There’s not much going on out there in winter. So they moved and now live in Bristol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82