#club5050 Winchester Christmas Market (89 STEEM Power Up)

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

Have you already paid a visit to a Christmas market this year? I was in Winchester, Hampshire, South East England yesterday which is famous for its festive market in the Cathedral’s grounds.

PIMG_3924.jpg
Camera: iPhone 12 Lens: iPhone 12 Back Dual Wide 1.55, 4.2,1.6,2.4
ISO: 500 Shutter Speed: 1/25 Focal Length: 4.2mm

It is a best selling organised coach tour at this time time of the year. I visited the market independently though hopping on one of many trains from Waterloo station. If you happen to make your way to the train station quite early, which I didn't, there is the Millennium Green which is worth a stroll with sculptures to look at and even its own pond.

PIMG_8529.jpg
Camera: iPhone 7 Lens: iPhone 7 Back Camera
ISO: 20 Shutter Speed: 1/50 Focal Length: 3.99mm

The train journey is a bit over an hour which wasn’t enough however for the two women sitting on the same row to finish their makeup. They simply didn’t stop brushing their faces which I am afraid didn’t look any different at all. But whatever makes one happy especially now around Christmas.

DSC_0132.JPG
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 400
Shutter Speed: 1/80 Aperture: f/4

The market is free to enter and it is open till 8pm. Due to Covid a one way system is in place and in general the whole event is much better organised and less crowded. However there was no ice rink this year. There is plenty of gin, whisky, spiced rum and flavoured vodka to be tasted for free while listening to the story of its distillery and how it makes its signature spirit. A cup of mulled wine priced at £5 is not to be missed with choices of traditional German or Edinburgh Mead.

DSC_0075.JPG
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 280
Shutter Speed: 1/125 Aperture: f/3.6

The food is not overpriced with the grilled cheese stall being the favourite of many serving a huge cheese sandwich with gherkins on the side for £5. There are plenty of picnic tables and benches in the middle so you can have a bite to eat while even listening to some Christmas carols sung live on the stage. Roasted chestnuts and marshmallows cooked over an open fire are also a treat worth getting. The delicate smell of this open fire actually made me feel like in Munich, Germany where I have visited the ten times larger Christmas market.

DSC_0158.JPG
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 1,600
Shutter Speed: 1/60 Aperture: f/5

If you also want to buy a few gifts, maybe even for yourself, there is plenty of handmade jewellery, silk, (I know it is a bit unusual for this time of the year here) and alpaca wool scarfs, glass and textile Christmas tree ornaments including some from overseas. Handmade iron garden decorations like flowers, dragonflies and birds on sticks and shovels, some of which being even designed as bird feeders and baths caught my eye. I didn’t buy one as I didn’t want to feel like a shepherd going around the city later and on the train back to London although it would have been a well-received gift this Christmas.

DSC_0128.JPG
Camera: Nikon D5600 Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ISO: 2,800
Shutter Speed: 1/60 Aperture: f/4.6

Play and don't be shy to sing along with the song which I recorded for you yesterday in Winchester especially if you or your little ones are fans of the Disney film Frozen.

Here is also a screenshot of my today's power up.

Screenshot 2021-12-12 at 18.26.42.png

Sort:  

That place looks so nice and we'll decorated with upcoming festival.

 3 years ago 

Thank you my friend 💁‍♀️ I am really glad that you like it. They did their very best this year. Many couldn’t wait to pop in and have a look as all the festive markets were cancelled last year. I personally loved the live performances on stage as they just added to the festive spirit.

Beautiful photos of Christmas market, have not been myself this year :)

You post is nominated for „@art-venture“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page and using tag #art-venturehave priority. If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 3 years ago 

Thank you ever so much 💁‍♀️ There is still some time left so maybe you will manage to go to a Christmas market too this year. If not there is always next year.

I really appreciate that you nominated my post for the @art-venture Support Programme. It is original content which hasn’t been cross posted so I look forward to receiving the booming account upvote.

 3 years ago 

looks very lively and quite busy! I´m sure that got you right into the Christmas spirit!

 3 years ago 

It was certainly the most popular place in town. People weren’t keeping an eye out for the signs for the market or following directions on their phones. They simply followed the crowd of people from the train station. The live entertainment created fantastic festive atmosphere. Have you got a Christmas market on in Ibiza? I have been to your island in spring, summer and early autumn but never this time of the year 🎄

Beautiful photos and atmosphere at the Christmas Markets.Love mulled wine in cold weather too:)

 3 years ago 

Thank you for stopping by my friend 🙂 I am pleased that you like the Christmas vibes and the photos included. How not to love mulled wine. It is so fragrant and full of flavour. It does need cold weather indeed ideally even some snow ❄️

It was a pleasure for me to read your post 🥰 Since I wrote a Christmas market post, I looked at your post with more excitement. The women's makeup part made me laugh a lot 🤣 This means that time is relative. I wish there was ice skating, it adds great dynamism to the Christmas markets. This market looks rich in liquor. I would love to be there and taste them. Btw, thanks for this beautiful song 🎶

 3 years ago 

You are more than welcome my friend 💁‍♀️ Life is better with music 💃 I am really glad that you enjoyed reading my post. I like your Christmas market article too. I actually love the photos you featured so much that I wish to pay this festive market a visit one day. I can’t wait to see what else you have to share with us here in the WORLD OF XPILAR. Will you be travelling somewhere around the holidays?

I am happy that you, who wrote this beautiful Christmas market post, liked my christmas market post. I love to travel, but unfortunately I don't have a travel plan for this holiday. I hope my next posts can catch your attention in WOX, too 🙃

 3 years ago 

Greetings my friend @petface

I love the Christmas atmosphere, nice pictures.

 3 years ago 

Greetings @adeljose I am glad that I was able to spread the Christmas cheer. I will keep trying too as there are just 11 days left till this wonderful holiday 🎄

How amazingly "Majestic" it all looks! Like a fairy tale!

And the wather doesent seem too bad!

Great photography by the way! =)

Eythor!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66533.06
ETH 3491.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71