#club5050 My Lunch With A Crunch (Power Up 19 Steem)

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

You would be surprised to find out how busy Dovecote Farm between Kettering and Corby in Northants, England actually is on a weekday for a late, 2pm lunch.

PIMG_5424.jpg
A pastrami and Comte cheese toasted sandwich with gherkins and mustard mayonnaise served with side salad and potato salad.
Camera: iPhone 12 Lens: iPhone 12 Back Dual Wide 1.55, 4.2,1.6,2.4
ISO: 160 Shutter Speed: 1/50 Focal Length: 4.2mm

So many popped in to have a bite to eat and some even treated themselves to an afternoon tea.

IMG_9323.jpg
Camera: iPhone 7 Lens: iPhone 7 Back Camera
ISO: 32 Shutter Speed: 1/17 Focal Length: 3.99mm

You can get the idea of how busy it is here today as soon as you pull over and see too many cars parked. The open air car park can take probably three times as many so nothing to worry about.

IMG_5429.jpg
Camera: iPhone 12 Lens: iPhone 12 Back Dual Wide 1.55, 4.2,1.6,2.4
ISO: 160 Shutter Speed: 1/50 Focal Length: 4.2mm

We didn’t make a booking as we were actually meant to be having lunch miles away with other people, but they were more willing to carry on driving straight home. We weren’t in a rush and decided as usual to give the fast food restaurants a miss. It is so much better to dine in an independent eatery like this which focuses on superb quality local produce. The service is outstanding too, they smile and always have a spare minute or two for a random friendly chat.

IMG_9325.jpg
Camera: iPhone 7 Lens: iPhone 7 Back Camera
ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/11 Focal Length: 3.99mm

They even grow strawberries here and you can have fun and pick your own. Not right now in February of course but in the summer holiday season. If I time it well this year I will make sure I post about this experience. In the meantime I am growing wild strawberries myself and I am still picking a few smaller but just as tasty fruit nearly every day. They are all indoors this time of the year as you can imagine and enjoy the daylight from the other side of a window.

IMG_5411.jpg
Camera: iPhone 12 Lens: iPhone 12 Back Dual Wide 1.55, 4.2,1.6,2.4
ISO: 250 Shutter Speed: 1/50 Focal Length: 1.55mm

But come on let’s not think about pudding before lunch. I chose the Comte cheese and pastrami sandwich from the specials on the black board. This toasted sandwich had a homemade mustard mayonnaise and gherkins too. It was served with lots of, as you can see, fresh salad which I barely finished. There was also potato salad on the side which actually I haven’t had in ages. This meal was priced at £8.20 and surprisingly it is a bit cheaper than the sandwiches featured in their regular menu. I ordered my favourite hot drink, a cappuccino which I enjoyed having here rather than my usual coffee to go when I am in a rush to get somewhere.

IMG_9320.jpg
Camera: iPhone 7 Lens: iPhone 7 Back Camera
ISO: 50 Shutter Speed: 1/17 Focal Length: 3.99mm

Here you can also get plenty of interior design ideas as everything but the tables and chairs appears with price tags on and is for sale. There are unique handmade products some textile, others wooden, metal or porcelain.

IMG_9322.jpg
Camera: iPhone 7 Lens: iPhone 7 Back Camera
ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/9 Focal Length: 3.99mm

The carefully selected household items come in all sizes from drink coasters for instance to large cosy cushions and even sleepy dog baskets. I loved their animal prints on scarves like these cute highland cattle and even the aprons the staff wore that had fun lobsters on.

IMG_9321.jpg
Camera: iPhone 7 Lens: iPhone 7 Back Camera
ISO: 32 Shutter Speed: 1/33 Focal Length: 3.99mm

I even think I know the right man for this beer hunting card to be honest. Did I buy it? Well, please do me a favour and don’t ask so I don’t end up ruining a surprise.

IMG_9326.jpg
Camera: iPhone 7 Lens: iPhone 7 Back Camera
ISO: 50 Shutter Speed: 1/17 Focal Length: 3.99mm

I will also submit one of my toasted sandwich photos to @mister-omortson’s food contest. What about you my dear readers? Did you serve or just have anything tasty for lunch today and why don’t you share it too?

IMG_5434.jpg
Camera: iPhone 12 Lens: iPhone 12 Back Dual Wide 1.55, 4.2,1.6,2.4
ISO: 160 Shutter Speed: 1/50 Focal Length: 4.2mm

I also powered up 19 Steem and here is a screenshot of this vital transaction.

Screenshot 2022-02-21 at 10.48.11.png

Sort:  

What a cozy place, splendid to enjoy a good dish and nice talks, and you can shop, sometimes we choose places to save a few cents and stop enjoying quality and comfort places, the dishes look delicious, fresh vegetables and the crispy bread. Greetings and Blessings.

 2 years ago 

Looks delicious! I am looking forward to getting out of the house when this pandemic is finally over.

 2 years ago 

Greetings @brittilicious I remember a year ago even ordering a takeaway felt adventurous. From today onwards face coverings are no longer compulsory on the public transport here in England. I popped in a shop a few hours ago but I still wore a mask. I might still wear one on the train tomorrow. I hope it got better in your country too. I can’t wait to visit Canada for two weeks this summer so I hope the pandemic is all in the past then.

How much does such a cup of coffee cost?

 2 years ago 

Greetings my friend @apnigrich and happy Friday. It is nice and sunny over here and I am lucky to be on the south English coast right now. The cappuccino cost £3.20 at this farm coffee shop which is still cheaper than a hot drink this size in London. How much does it cost in your area?

I bought a similar cup of cappuccino in Milan for 2.5 euros.

we had a similar cup that cost about $2 when I took it last time. But I must admit that it was last year. I haven't been to a good coffee shop for a long time.

 2 years ago 

Greetings my friend @petface

Looks very healthy lunch, nice pictures.

 2 years ago 

Good afternoon @adeljose and thanks for stopping by. It is always lovely to hear from you. It was a delicious plate of food. I aim at having and cooking healthy meals using ideally lots of ingredients. Enjoy your weekend and see you around.

It would be so nice to be there during strawberry season. It will be great both to collect them from the branch and to watch their colorful beauties.

 2 years ago 

It is awesome indeed @ozenozge As long as I am not abroad I will definitely make an appearance there and get some. I love having fresh strawberries just halved with some chopped mint straight from my garden on top.

Must try the mint and strawberry duo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70