#club5050 Me Vs Lamb Shank

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

Join me for a lamb roast in the pub here in Kent, less than an hour on a train from the heart of London and the always busy Victoria station. The walk to the pub from our cottage involved taking a shortcut through a field. Turnips used to grow here and luckily have just been harvested. Many vegetables in all shapes and sizes, some more yellow and others more red were scattered across the field. I felt like I was on an Easter egg hunt for the first few minutes. It was overwhelming as, to be honest with you, I have never even seen how turnips grow. I picked a nice big golden vegetable which I wrapped in my scarf and carried like a puppy inside the pub. The vegetable couldn't have been any fresher when I picked it as it still had its green leaves on.

PIMG_3714.jpg
Lamb shank garnished with shredded sprouts, swede and carrot mash, garden peas, roast potatoes and Yorkshire pudding all swimming in gravy. Mint sauce on the side which is fantastic for marinating pieces of meat in.
Camera: Iphone 12 Lens: Iphone 12 Back Dual Wide 1.55, 4.2,1.6,2.4
ISO: 500 Shutter Speed: 1/33 Focal Length: 4.2mm

I suppose the money they need to pay some people to collect by hand all the vegetables which the harvester left behind is much more than loosing a few kilograms of the produce. There were plenty of holes here and there so I bet the locals know about the free turnips and came to take few. Why not? Better than leave them to the crows and foxes to devour. Tonight this turnip which is usually so difficult to find in the supermarkets near my place made a fantastic addition to a chicken stew with dumplings on top. It gave it sweetness and cooked down quite well. I also like it pickled as an appetiser together with gherkins and green olives.

Sort:  

I see you had a delicious meal @petface.
Hope you were delighted.😊

 3 years ago 

I certainly was my friend @aimarandi The lamb was ever so tasty. The service in the pub was quite good too and there were few bird feeders just outside the window so I was also birdwatching. I always try my best to book a table by the window which makes dining in a restaurant even more exciting.

 3 years ago 

Greetings friend @petface

Thanks for sharing with us this succulent dish, lamb is very good, I used to eat it in coconut.

I hope you enjoyed it.

 3 years ago 

Greetings my friend @adeljose I really loved every bite of the lamb shank. The meat was very tender and was falling off the bone easily. The vegetable sides were tasty too but I struggled to finish them all. I love the sound of coconut lamb which I find quite exotic. I will gladly try it as soon as I have an opportunity.

Don't tell me you managed to eat all that lamb shank!? It looks delicious, though!

 3 years ago 

I will be honest with you my friend @zorank Surprisingly I did finish all the lamb on my plate! I didn’t manage to eat all the side dishes though but I tried really hard🍴Getting ready for Christmas 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66