#club5050 Jane Austen’s House (Power Up 50 Steem)

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

It is a truth universally acknowledged,
that a single man in possession of a good fortune,
must be in want of a wife.

IMG_6275.jpg

I bet some of you have heard of Pride and Prejudice. If you haven’t I suppose your mother has. A visit here to the author’s house makes for a nice outing for around Mother’s Day.

DSC_0391.JPG

It darted through her, with the speed of an arrow,
that Mr. Knightley must marry no one but herself!
Emma

IMG_6274.jpg

Right now the exterior of the house is being renovated, but after all you are not here to get to know the work of an architect better. There is a tea room just across the road and a Fuller’s pub right next to it.

DSC_0308.JPG

I wish, as well as everybody else, to be perfectly happy;
but like everybody else, it must be in my own way.
Sense and Sensibility

Chawton village where Jane Austen lived from 1809 till 1817 is really charming. There is a big car park across the road from the tea room to leave your vehicle. However if you want to enjoy spring at its best I recommend the Jane Austen trail which you can join from either Beech or Alton.

IMG_9929.jpg

Our day at Alton was very pleasant, venison quite right,
Children well-behaved,
Mr & Mrs Digweed taking kindly to our Charades and other Games...
We had a beautiful walk home by Moonlight.
Jane Austen's letter to Cassandra Austen: 8 September 1816

IMG_9925.jpg

The gardens of the author’s house are simply stunning right now with lots of daffodils and primroses in full bloom. Back in the days when the family used to live here they were growing vegetables and medicinal plants. Yarrow for instance, the common weed in a lawn is known to lower blood pressure. Pot marigold heals wounds, burns and stings.

IMG_9961.jpg

There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends.
I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.
Northanger Abbey

IMG_9931.jpg

There are quite a few different outdoor seating areas with the two pure white marble benches opposite each other being my favourite spot.

My Emma, does not everything serve to prove more and more the
beauty of truth and sincerity in all our dealings with each other?
Emma

DSC_0333.JPG

Jane Austen was really pleased with the garden herself where she loved to sit and write of course. She mentioned the gardens and what was happening out here in many of her letters to friends and family.

IMG_9955.jpg

You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope.
Tell me not that I am too late, that such precious feelings are gone for ever.
Persuasion

DSC_0327.JPG

A visit to the house currently costs £12 and just half the price for NHS staff. There is also another popular mansion here, Chawton with even larger gardens that are also worth popping in especially if you are in no hurry and have a whole day to spend in the village.

Our Chawton home - how much we find Already in it to our mind,
And how convinced that when complete, It will all other Houses beat
Jane Austen's letter to Francis Austen: 26 July 1809

IMG_0005.jpg

I hope you found this post interesting and it maybe even inspired some of you to read and write more.

I also powered up 50 Steem and below is a screenshoot of this really important activity.

Screenshot 2022-03-20 at 12.35.37.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hello dear friend @petface good afternoon
What a beautiful place you let us know, and how much history that place keeps; I would love to have a garden like that
I appreciate that you let us know these beautiful photographs
Have a beautiful afternoon

I see that this is a wonderful place.
This is not just a house-museum, but a large estate. Perfectly!
I agree with you that "men should have a wife" :)

 2 years ago 

Greetings from sunny London my friend @apnigrich I am pleased that you like Jane Austen's house. Historical sites here in England are made to appeal to people of all ages including children. I love such interactive ways of learning about the past and comparing it to the world we live in now. I see that you certainly enjoyed your trip to Moscow. Your daughter must be happy there and I wish her all the very best. Cheers and see you around.

We have many beautiful places. But such estates are rare. A lot was destroyed after 1917 - the Revolution, the Civil War, collectivization, industrialization, the Great Patriotic War, the liquidation of unpromising villages and so on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44