#club5050 Date Night

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

The sun was still shining but it wasn’t as high up in the sky as it used to be earlier in the day.

IMG_6927.jpg

I suggested we have a cocktail each and go out for an evening meal. I made espresso martinis 🍸 which I even grow chocolate mint for.

IMG_6863.jpg

My recipe is quite easy and you can give it a try at home. Just mix in the cocktail shaker four single measures of vodka with two single measures of a coffee liqueur, I use Kahlua.

IMG_6380.jpeg

Then four ice cubes need to join the party together with a sprig of chocolate mint. Last but not least add two espressos and shake it well. Have two martini glasses out ready for pouring. I love to decorate the cocktails with edible glitter or French chocolate powder. Having just a few coffee beans on top I find a bit old fashioned and boring.

IMG_6868.jpg

We popped in The Harwood Arms They take walk-ins but if you have your eyes on a Sunday lunch here, a booking three months ahead is the only way in. We don’t live near the pub but in London the public transport is quite reliable, running 24/7 and will get you literally anywhere.

IMG_6865.jpg

The pub's interior is an interesting mix of a few different styles actually. The lights are dimmed, hiding behind peacock feathers. There are also quite a lot of hunting trophies including deer and mountain goat heads. To confuse you even more there are numerous Greek and Roman stone and marble pieces of art.

IMG_6872.jpg

So it is certainly not where you take the kids out for a meal but it is definitely the right choice for a sexy meal for two. So thought the couple sitting at the table right next to us. They met online and were on a first date here, which unfortunately didn’t seem to go as well as expected.

IMG_6875.jpg

The guy had a few too many drinks too early and even knocked a glass that made me nearly scream which didn’t make it any better. The girl wasn’t interested in much else other than why he had two iPhones on him. She, guessing from Mexico by the accent, surprisingly didn’t put any effort into getting ready. She at least had a pair of just black high heels on.

IMG_6942.jpg

They left quite early and headed in different directions but who knows we might see them again here another time. What a gossip girl I am! Maybe this is what I should change my Steemit avatar name to?

IMG_6935.jpg

We enjoyed our duck to share served with herby baby potatoes, naked oats with chanterelle mushrooms, celeriac puree, Swiss chard and Tokyo turnips with rapeseed on.

Usually I like a duck leg better than a breast which tends to remain drier and lacks flavour. But that night I had the tastiest duck breast ever and I look forward to having it again.

IMG_6947.jpg

A two course meal for two here including a cocktail each and a bottle of wine came to just under £175. So it is not where most people can afford to eat every day but if you decide to treat yourself or have a special occasion, this pub, famous for its impeccable service, is certainly an ideal place to go.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

The table next to you doesn't sound like a first date - it sounds like they're married 🤣

 2 years ago 

🤦‍♀️ They could have well been! I reckon he just got promoted and got given the second IPhone. So he had a serious reason to celebrate with a few too many drinks.

 2 years ago 

And at the end of the meal, he was committed and went off to the next pub. Angered by the whole thing, she went home 🤣

 2 years ago 

Super cool avatar by the way👌

 2 years ago 

I have @tomoyan to thank for it 🙂He didn't seem too impressed by his pack of Steempunk Gorillas and kindly gave me one. I think it's looking great 👍

A very interesting solution is peacock feathers on the chandelier.

Do you already have lilacs in bloom? We will have lilacs in bloom only in a month. Or even longer.

 2 years ago 

Peacock feathers do make an exotic chandelier. I have also seen a Christmas tree made from feathers.

The purple lilac is in full bloom here already @apnigrich We also have a pure white lilac in the garden which flowers just started to come out. It always flowers after the purple lilac. I can’t wait to see how pretty spring is in your area.

76C601F4-C4BE-4759-9E7A-7F0EBFBF647E.jpeg

Congratulations!

This post has been upvoted by steemcurator08.

Curation Team: IAT, "Lifestyle"
Curator: Chriddi

 2 years ago 

Good morning @chriddi I hope you are well and I am pleased to see that authors like me keep you busy reading quality posts. It goes without saying that I am really grateful for the upvote. Let’s see what May has for us here on the platform. Cheers.

We are going to apply again - so keep your fingers crossed... ;-)

Friend, having a great taste in a good restaurant are things that we should do for our comfort and well, you certainly realize the characters at other tables by their behavior of something if you are sure that if you don't like the food, you won't get bored 🤷‍ ♀️😁

But in this case I think you have to talk about both things very well, the place looks very cozy, I'm glad you enjoyed a good meal.

Greetings, may your days like this be repeated, blessings.🤗

 2 years ago 

Happy Friday @lanegra2804

if you don't like the food, you won't get bored 🤷‍ ♀️😁

This is very true indeed my friend. I should have actually titled my post a dinner with entertainment 😁

 2 years ago 

Happy friday to both of you @lanegra2804, and @petface, loved the post :)

 2 years ago 

Thank you ever so much @digi-me I am really glad that you like the post and I hope that you are enjoying your weekend. I am already out and about here in London with my family and my camera, of course, so let’s see if I manage to take some photographs worth sharing. Cheers.

 2 years ago 

Im enjoying the weekend, ofc! :) have a nice trip and enjoy :)

Good one 🤣 what a laugh.

Greetings!

Hope you kept my share, because I am salivating now.

 2 years ago 

Oops! No doggy bag I am afraid. Maybe next time 😉

I loved reading your post. What sort of first date was that 😂😂

 2 years ago 

Nice table, made me hungry. Nice shots too.
Regards.

the food looks really good and the flowers are pretty

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27