A Taste Of South Africa

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

I had fun exploring and of course took just one too many photos of a Mediterranean garden. I’m not writing this post from somewhere in sunny Greece. Here in London we’ve got all sorts of places to pop in.

IMG_7697.jpg

I was happy to learn more about the European olive 🫒 tree "Olea Europaea". Why’s that? I’ve got an olive tree myself too. I got it as a birthday present and it’s doing well ever since. I’m its favourite hairdresser and it's always useful to learn a few new tricks.

PDSC_0003.jpg

The bigger, older olive trees I saw in the garden here even had green olives on. Plenty of them. They taste bitter if you just pick one straight from the tree and nibble on. Did I just google this? Unfortunately for me no, I’m speaking from experience 🙈 If they are to become table olives they are soaked in water for few days to extract their bitterness. Then they are cured in brine for about four weeks.

I also took a picnic in, had few drinks and admired the olive trees for a bit longer. I made friends with a cute and curious robin. Exactly like me, yes! Time flew by and as the day already got shorter, it started to get dark. Must be time for dinner then so let’s head to the local peri-peri eatery 🍽 The music here is never too loud. The food comes quick so it’s never too early to order that bottle of wine. South African, yes.

IMG_2832.jpeg
A whole garlic barbecue chicken with peri-salted chips, lightly spiced rice and macho peas.

Other than the BBQ chicken sharing platter for two featured here, the installation on the ceiling is also worth noticing. It reminds me of a summer sunset ideally somewhere by the sea.

IMG_2829.jpg

Hope you all had a nice Sunday. I’m getting ready for a Monday. Another day, another dollar 💵 Cheers fellow bloggers and till next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43