Winter Landscapes (Visual Story, 8 Photos)steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

Winter is approaching. The thought of it prompted me to look in the archive. There I found some shots from the most difficult hike I had. It was a winter hike in the mountains.

In the photos you can see the highest peaks of the Ukrainian Carpathians Hoverla and Petros.

DSC_7456.jpg

DSC_7466.jpg

DSC_7489.jpg

DSC_7492.jpg

DSC_7512.jpg

DSC_7513.jpg

DSC_7529.jpg

DSC_7533.jpg

For me, the winter hike was extremely difficult. I did not know how to prepare, because I do not go hiking professionally. It is very difficult to walk in the snow, there are no trails, because the wind instantly sweeps them away with snow. My strength left me halfway, but the fear of staying in the mountains forever pushed me to move forward.

Would I go on a winter hike again? Now I have a family, my daughter, for which I am responsible. Apparently I will limit myself to summer walks in the mountains :)

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thanks.

Really beautiful, but I am happy to enjoy it only in the distance, @o1eh

 3 years ago 

You are right, I will not go there for the second time in winter.

A wise decision!

 3 years ago 

Hi @o1eh The last but one photo you featured here is actually my favourite. It reminds me of Frozen without the cheesy song. It does look quite tough hiking out there in the Carpathian Mountains in winter. I even nearly got lost hiking in the mountains in late autumn. Just after certain number of hours out and about with the backpack on you get exhausted and all around you starts looking the same. It always helps having a reliable offline map and a power pack.

 3 years ago 

You are right, many underestimate the danger of the mountains. An eight-year-old boy recently got lost in the Carpathians. He had to spend the night there. Fortunately, the boy turned out to be very brave, he was found with a stick, which, in his opinion, should help him drive away wild animals :) Fortunately, the guy is fine.

 3 years ago 

😱 I am really glad that it all ended well in the end and the boy survived out there on his own. He is now I suppose a local celebrity and probably one of the most popular kids at school. Well deserved of course. People tend to start a hike unprepared even in terms of what they are wearing for that particular weather. Some even arrive for the first time ever in a foreign country and attempt a hike with just their fellow companions. We over here in England don't have that high mountain peaks like you do in Ukraine and we don't get that much snow either. Still places like the Dartmoor National Park for instance can be surprisingly dangerous. There are mountain rescue teams who really save lives. The weather changes suddenly there, it rains a lot and visibility can be really poor so people get disoriented and then lost some even not in waterproof gear.

 3 years ago 

I'm ashamed, but still haven't heard of Dartmoor National Park. Now look at the site and photos on the Internet. This is an incredible beauty.

Looking at the site, I can immediately notice a big difference between a holiday in Ukraine and in England. You have a very developed infrastructure. Trips are planned by routes - historical landscapes, natural landscapes. Traveling can be made more comfortable or wilder.

We have a large percentage of tourists who go to the mountains at their own discretion. In most cases, they do not even warn rescuers about their route.

But we are moving in the right direction. More and more travel companies provide services, guides, keep in touch with rescue services. I think over time the system will improve.

 3 years ago 

I'm glad that the Dartmoor National Park caught you eye and I'm pleased that you cared to check it out online. Organised tourism is quite popular here.

I know that Ukrainian students do work experience abroad in the hospitality industry for instance @o1eh They get the chance to be part of professional Food & Beverage and Front Desk teams. Then they get certificates and bring skills and experience back home which will also help Ukraine improve the touristic services on offer.

 3 years ago 

Yes, you are right. Many people from Ukraine also work abroad. They gain experience, then return and start their business at home.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31