What would I have done if I had USD 25K?

in WORLD OF XPILAR6 days ago

I don't participate in contests very often. Not because I don't like them, not at all. On the contrary, I love contests and they can be very interesting. I can write a post on any topic, I have enough imagination, but in most cases it will be mediocre posts and no one is interested. I usually write a post about a topic that I have something to say about.

However, sometimes the authors of contests hit the mark. It happened this time as well. When I first read the topic of this competition, I realized that the author had asked an extremely difficult question. I've never set out to get rich or get rich quick, so I don't have a ready answer for what I would spend $25k on.

Before the meeting 🤦‍♂️

My life developed with a clear plan and before I even thought that this plan was mine. I always knew what I wanted and where I should go, I planned a lot in advance. While most parents try their best to give their actions an education, I confidently chose my specialty, went to Lviv myself, passed the exams and entered the university. I got into a state-funded place so my parents didn't have to pay for my tuition. Usually, after university, people have problems with employment. I got a job in a serious company before I even finished university, and I combined my studies with work for six months. A good and promising career followed. I married the best woman and have the most adorable daughter in the world.

Everything changed when the war started in my country. The fighting is very far from my home, but over time the war has affected every aspect of our lives. The situation is so unpredictable right now that I have no more plans, not even for tomorrow. Therefore, it is extremely difficult for me to say what I would spend 25 thousand dollars on.

I am in desperate need of a new car as the one I have is so old that I am reluctant to drive it beyond my area. But would I spend that $25,000 on a new car? I'm sure not.

Now we live in such an information field where we hear bad news every day. Every day someone goes to work and has nowhere to return to because his home was destroyed by a rocket attack. Every day someone's car burns down due to falling debris from strike drones. Every day someone dies. And it changes our worldview. Looking around, I don't see things that are valuable enough to make me want to spend $25k on them.

What is really valuable? The only thing in this changing world that is really valuable to me is my daughter. So I would invest that $25,000 in her future. Why does a nine-year-old child need 25 thousand dollars? Does she need a proper home? Not yet. She needs something very expensive. Not yet. I think I would keep this money for now to later invest in her education.

image.png

It is quite possible that she will get an education on her own, since she is already studying very well. However, there are many costs associated with living in another city. Therefore, studying at a university can never be considered free.

My diploma, I hope the child's will be even better 🙂

There are different types of investments. You can buy shares or cryptocurrency and make 50 or more from 25 thousand (or lose everything 😆). But the investment in the development of the person herself is priceless. It will not give you an immediate profit, but it will allow you to build your own life.

There are various cases and many will say that he got a higher education, but it did not help him in life. I don't know in advance how my child's life will turn out, but as a parent I have to do everything that depends on me, I have to give her all the tools thanks to which she will be able to achieve what she needs on her own.

Well, it looks like I finally solved that question for myself. Thanks to @xpilar for the contest and congratulations to our community for reaching such a large size. This is already a small city!

Sort:  

Hello, @o1eh

Masha Allah, your story is very interesting and touching. Everyone has their own journey, but the way you have consistently worked hard and achieved your goals is really impressive. Your statement "in today's times, nothing seems valuable" really makes one think about how we perceive the true worth of our lives.

Seeing your concern and love for your daughter is very inspiring. Every parent dreams of a bright future for their child and your decision to invest in your daughter's education is very wise. This is indeed the best investment that will make her future shine.

You are absolutely right in thinking that education is not just about a degree, but it is a means to groom a person's character and enhance their skills. It is this education that gives our children the courage to face difficulties and achieve their goals. Providing these opportunities for your daughter will make her life easier and happier.

Your story teaches us the lesson that we should never lose hope and courage. You have faced every difficult time with determination, and this courage will also be a source of strength for your daughter. Your daughter is very fortunate to have parents like you. May God brighten the future of you and your daughter and grant you success and happiness at every step. Amen

Regards, @fabiha

 5 days ago 

Thank you, I am very glad to have such a reader 🙂

Your article reminded me of the conflict in my country. We had many of the same challenges as you experienced. Our lives had been turned upside down by a lack of direction and uncertainty about what would happen next. Fortunately, we had now overcome that fear. However, the ongoing global war affects everyone including us.
In such a situation, your idea to invest your money in your daughter's education is just.

 3 days ago 

Thank you 🙂, unfortunately wars happen and my belief that this is no longer possible in Europe and that we have evolved was a big mistake. War can happen anywhere. I hope that the military conflict will not be repeated in your country.

I hope that such a terrible conflict does not occur again in my nation. Thank you for your kind feedback.

Wasn't your daughter just 7 years old? ;-)) Time flies... And as long as education costs money, it's worth every cent. That includes things that money can't buy - but she already has them all ;-))

 5 days ago 

Oh yes, time flies. On July 2, we celebrated Darinka's birthday, I looked at the number 9 on the cake and couldn't understand what it was doing there 😆. It's just incredible.

 2 days ago 

I only have 5 words for you.
You are a good daddy!

 2 days ago (edited)

You are a good daddy!

Oh, I try to be like that 😏

 yesterday 

Tsk.. tsk!
I am a mother and when I read a post like this I know it is no longer "trying" but yah, it is now the task of perfecting it. (•ิ‿•ิ)

I hope you win the contest... stay strong during this difficult time....Cheers :)

 3 days ago 

I hope you win the contest...

Oh, I don't even know, I think it will be ugly if such a large-scale contest is won by a community moderator 😁

Well....I don't know about that! I hope the prize goes to Ukraine :)
I'm rooting for that to happen for this contest :) Cheers :)

I agree with you, think about the future and education is essential. I am glad that your daughter has a father with a good vision of life.

 3 days ago 

Thank you, I am very pleased 😊

 3 days ago 

Wonderful! Hope twice as much come your way!

 3 days ago 

Thank you, I wish you a nice trip!

 6 days ago 

Nice post sir!

I think I would keep this money for now to later invest in her education

Would compound it until then :)

image.png

 5 days ago 

😆 Money must work! It seems that you understand finances. 🙂

 yesterday 

Yea let them work for you until you need em 😃

I think parent have just one priority and that's their family which is very beautiful. Dedicating such fund to your daughter's education isn't bad, it goes as far as showing your great intentions toward her.

 5 days ago 

Education costs can vary greatly depending on the chosen specialty. Maybe $25,000 would be too much, maybe not enough. If the child studies well, the state can pay for his university education. Therefore, it is difficult to plan something in advance here.

 6 days ago 

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us
Securing the future of the children is probably something that all parents want to do, for education also means a lot to young people today.

You are in the competition

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38