You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🎄 Do You Find Christmas Stressful?

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

Until I became an adult, the holiday season was magical to me. Things look a little different now, primarily because of the numerous hassles associated with the holidays.

Here it is worth noting that in our country there are many peculiarities and traditions related to winter holidays. First of all, this is a problem with the calendar. Traditionally, we celebrated Christmas on January 7, but in the last 20 years there have been discussions in society about the need to switch to the Gregorian calendar and celebrate together with the whole world. This issue has become particularly acute this year. Some people switched to the new calendar.

It is difficult to change traditions, so as a result we celebrate two Christmases, but on January 7 we celebrate more traditionally.

We have very alive traditions that force us to prepare many dishes. For example, on Christmas Eve there should be 12 dishes on the table. And although few people now follow this rule, still, in order to prepare for the holidays, you need to spend a lot of effort and time on cooking. It is difficult, sometimes even exhausting.

However, I can't say that I don't like the winter holidays, although I feel relieved that they are over.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

This issue has become particularly acute this year. Some people switched to the new calendar.

Ah, that's understandable. I've only ever associated the later Christmas with Russia and given what's happening at the moment, people will want to distance themselves from that. It feels like it would be a shame though if it's been the tradition if Ukraine for so long too. It's hard for me to have an opinion really though as I don't know much about the history of January 7th.

We have very alive traditions that force us to prepare many dishes

I'll have to look this up. How many dishes are we talking here? Is this "extreme tapas"?

However, I can't say that I don't like the winter holidays, although I feel relieved that they are over.

I find it to be a strange and contradictory feeling. I want to like it as I like (almost) all of the components and the sentiment behind them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58