You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WORLD OF XPILAR Community Blogosphere Magazine #42

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

I have already seen dozens of your paintings. I can not understand how these images come to you? How do you know how to express what you want to show? And you manage to do it all in your unique style. I wonder if this can be learned or should it be born in the head?

Sort:  

I truly do not know.
Maybe I would lean toward intuition because I didn’t take up a paintbrush until I was 25 years old. Although my skill was so very bad, compositions were always unique. I still do not know how to draw, and I can barely paint. There are so many thousands, perhaps a few million, painters more able and “artistic”. Take this famous quote from Hokusai. Who knows where I’ll be at 110:)

I have been in love with painting ever since I became conscious of it at the age of six. I drew some pictures I thought fairly good when I was fifty, but really nothing I did before the age of seventy was of any value at all. At seventy-three I have at least caught every aspect of nature–birds, fish, animals, insects, trees, grasses, all. When I am eighty I shall have developed still further and I will really master the secrets of art at ninety. when I reach a hundred my work will be truly sublime and my final goal will be attained around the age of one hundred and ten, when every line and dot I draw will be imbued with life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56768.45
ETH 2391.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28