Steemit engagement challenge WOX S6W6: "My photo diary" "5 photos of memorable events in 2022"

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)



Image Source

I have been challenged to do this post and to be honest I am very excited to share some photos with the memories that I carried with them. Sometimes we never know how much a photo can mean to us until the photo becomes a memory.

Dear diary, here are some of the highlights of my year, some of which carry more emotions than others.

10 February 2022.



“Sy is uiteindeindelik hier, na al die gewag” (she is finally here after the long wait) these are the words I received after a long day. My best friend delivered her baby, Thalia, after being in labour for almost 4 days. 10 February 2022 was the first time I would be able to hold the small bundle of love. At first, I was too scared to pick her up but as soon as I felt that soft baby skin I smiled and then I started crying. It just felt like a blessing to see and hold her for the first time.

27 February 2022.



It was hard to focus on any of my classes because that night we had a ball at school. This was the first ball I could attend. In the first year of high school, I was not allowed to attend the ball because only the senior students were allowed and then covid happened. Covid caused a lot of damage around the world but for me, the worst was that no social interactions were allowed. I enjoyed my first ball and a lot of my friends also attended. We can all be sure of one thing and that is the fact that this was not the last ball I would be attending.

24 July 2022.



We all assume that face paint is only for small kids. In South Africa, if you saw someone doing face painting your parents could be sure that they will be stopping there for you to also get your face painted. On this day my sister proved me wrong. We went out to go visit this new place that opened. As we got seated by our waiter you could see the children lining up in front of the person sitting at a table doing face paint. We did not think anything of it until the owner came to us and told us that we should go get our faces painted. My sister and I both looked at each other confused about what to get but it soon came to us. As my sister is my second half, we thought of getting a sugar skull painted on our faces, one half on hers and the other half on mine. This taught me, although you get older the mind can stay young.

30 October 2022.



We took a drive with my grandmother; she does not get out of the house much because she is getting old. As we sat in the car waiting for my mother to get back from the shop, I decided to take out my phone and take a few photos with her. You never know when the moment will be when a photo is the only thing you have left of a person. As my grandmother gets older one can see she does not have a lot of time left so you should never take any moment for granted. Even though she did not understand how I can capture a photo with my phone, this is a photo that I will be able to take with me in the long run.

24 December 2022.



The day before Christmas. Who would have thought I would be spending it in Ballito with my aunt? We woke up early this morning to go watch my uncle launch his boat. My aunt made us a cup of coffee and off we went. Just sitting at the beach drinking a cup of coffee is something a lot of people wish they could do. It was this morning that I realize that n fell in love with Ballito, and I wish that I never had to leave.

All the photos are my own.

“A picture can hold a thousand emotions and can explain things words never could.”

@patjewell

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09.

Congratulations! (1).png


Curated by - @radjasalman

 2 years ago 

Okay, firstly, I invited you to the challenge but only saw later that the 7 day challenge was changed to 6 days ending 31 December. I was not aware of it as I still had the original page of the contest open.
Our entries will this not count BUT no post is wasted on Steemit (•ิ‿•ิ)
Secondly, when I look at your photos and the memories you've shared I am glad that you wrote the post. You can treasure it forever!
Thank you for sharing!
PS: You are doing super great for a newbie!

At least we can learn from this experience. Thank you for your positive words, it definitely keeps me motivated.

 2 years ago 

Beautiful moments. The dog is super cute.
Happy new year, and many great moments to come.

1b.jpg

Thank you and happy new year.

Great post for someone new to the platform.
Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58320.47
ETH 2367.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45