You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🆕 July 2023 Newcomers - Where are they now?

I regularly check the newcomer community, but unfortunately there is rarely a post from a newcomer where I have no - or rather - little doubt about its authenticity. And as you've noticed here, there's often not much after the introduction, or only posts with cat pictures or referring to some kind of challenge.

Nevertheless, I keep checking in, hope dies last :-)

The moderators of the Newcomer Community really make an effort. But when I think back to my beginnings, I probably wouldn't have gone through this procedure. I looked for other users and just asked, and I had a lot of questions. Everything bit by bit, it's really complicated here. As a result, friendships have developed, as well as the need to pass on the help I've received.

Perhaps the newcomer community is trying to make it easier for newcomers. As a result, however, it may even become more difficult.

By the way, you linked to localhost in parts of your post, I just noticed. Cool tool, your status tool :-) And another thing, a lot has happened at /promoted

Sort:  
 5 months ago 

I regularly check the newcomer community, but unfortunately there is rarely a post from a newcomer where I have no - or rather - little doubt about its authenticity. And as you've noticed here, there's often not much after the introduction, or only posts with cat pictures or referring to some kind of challenge.

Nevertheless, I keep checking in, hope dies last :-)

I feel the same... I do the same... "it's the hope that gets you in the end" ((c) @the-gorilla)

You've been here much longer than me - when I joined, I posted in the Newcomers' Community (after a couple of football posts) and wondered "Why hasn't anybody replied?" - I expected the interaction to be instant. Like it would be on an old skool Message Board or Forum. It wasn't, so I explored... I searched communities, I searched content, I was curious... and perhaps that's where I'm different... and why I'm still here. I'm still curious... just about. Definitely not curious about contests though 😅

Thanks for pointing out the localhost links (I'm glad somebody clicked on them 😉) - I've updated them now.

And another thing, a lot has happened at /promoted

I've been busy testing out a few of my theories to see how they would work in reality. @remlaps and I have had a curiosity about this page for a long time, with nothing ever really "biting". This might be another flash in the pan, it might not be... time will tell. It does also help that these posts are called through to my own interface... it makes me more likely to promote content that I want to see 🙂

content that I want to see

They started to promote contests and contest results... 😂

 5 months ago 

Ah, that was me 🙂 I'm testing to see what the page would look like if I promoted the top 5 posts by realrobinhood (with no.1 receiving a higher promo than no.2). I also need to excluded voting bot users from that too.

So in theory, the result should produce the posts that are most interacted with (and resteemed... ah, resteems is probably where the algorithm favours contests... 🤔) and should therefore produce the "most attractive" outcome.

I'm beginning to see the flaw in my plan now.

Ah, that was me

Ah, okay - I stalked null's wallet... 😉

resteems is probably where the algorithm favours contests

Another argument that speaks against the "so popular" resteem obligation of challenge calls... 😖

I'm beginning to see the flaw in my plan now

Great!

 5 months ago 

It's impossible to avoid the challenges. The only way to avoid challenges, is to avoid Steemit.

I don't mind coming across challenges every now and then. It's just that this "constant bombardment" is unbearable. If I concentrate on my feed, I can block out a lot of crap. But my friends don't always keep it clean when they feel compelled to resteem these invitations. I don't understand this process: steemitblog like disconnected announce the SEC - so anyone interested can find them.

 5 months ago 

Yes, even my interface has become more contests than anything else. I hope there’s something that changes but there seems to be no letting up! We’re definitely in the minority!

We’re definitely in the minority!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56662.37
ETH 2982.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15