Dayhanna, Emperor of the Sea of Jubilee

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

30.jpg

Happy Wednesday my people and I hope very well, I welcome you once again to my art blog; Today's character is Dayhanna, The Emperor of the Jubilee Sea; a powerful woman which few people have come to see, only shows herself when her territory or the species that inhabit it are threatened:

PROCESS

0.jpg

I had a couple of days with the idea in my head to create this drawing because I am a big fan of Aquaman and characters of that style, but this time I wanted to give the protagonism to a female character; for this reason I created many sketches with different structures and poses, until I finally decided for the one you can see here with Dayhanna carrying her powerful scepter or staff with which she manipulates the ocean. The colors were chosen more towards light and soft tones, like the skin where I would later add more intense colors when creating the volume; for the clothing I decided on a very bluish color scheme.

2.jpg
4.jpg

I worked a lot on the volume of the skin to get a realism as detailed as possible, adding many deep shadows and occlusion in the neck, bust and where the hair covers the natural light; the work of the eyes was what I liked the most, here I made use of very light blue and I helped me a little with the watercolor brush for the brightness and realism of the eyes. For the clothes I used blue tones as I told you before, my intention was to create a 2 parts dress, where the lower part was a kind of dark mesh suit and the upper part would have a much more elegant and striking dress; the texture of the dress I worked with a rough brush and with short strokes, finally I decided to add some golden details in certain areas.

5.jpg
10.jpg
15.jpg

The hair I decided to paint it brown, but this time I tried something new and made double strokes with the open bristle brush to get a little more realism in the hair; I gave a little more loose shape to the hair and I also added a lot of glitter to make it look better. With the hair finished I decided to continue painting Dayhanna's scepter, I tried that the long part of the staff was of a texture like metallic blue; to the part of the tip that is where the power of our character is concentrated I decided to give it a diamond shape, I used a lot of navy blue and white to make the diamond look genuine, bright and striking.

17.jpg
19.jpg
21.jpg

In the final part of my work I only dedicated myself to build a good scenery for the character of Dayhanna, creating the character based on the marine theme because I knew that the sea would also be very present in this illustration; so I got down to work to paint a background in which Dayhanna was emerging from the depths of the ocean while raising a strong swell around her. I painted the waves with my usual style, but in addition I added some foam with the help of the airbrush and a sunflower tip brush while I mixed the texture and shape of the water; also as a final touch I added an intense blue glow to the eyes of the character to give the impression that she is about to use her implacable powers.

23.jpg
25.jpg
29.jpg

MATERIALS

  • Sai Paint Tool Program
  • Huion inspiroy h610 v2 tablet

PROCESS.gif

This has been all for today my dear community, thank you very much to everyone who came here and took the time to read all my post; I send you a big greeting and we will see each other soon in a new drawing, see you later.

Sort:  
 last year 

Very nice!

Thank you very much 🤗, I really appreciate your comment and your visit to my blog...Best regards and have a happy evening 🙋🏽‍♂️

 last year 

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65454.89
ETH 2948.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69