Photo contest: post processing #8 - High key ----- Attempt at a "high key"

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year (edited)

After reading a lot of what photographers say about achieving the "high key" state, I can safely come to the conclusion that my view on this matter can also be included in a number of all these opinions and descriptions of technology, because there are many of them and they vary. But I am not a photographer, I am an artist, and I use the camera as another tool to create my sketches from nature and very rarely resort to post-processing of the received images. If I do post-processing, I don't follow the histogram data, I don't do mathematical calculations, I do everything only visually

DSCN0400 (2).JPG

This photo was taken in the middle of last summer, but no one has seen it yet, except me. I can't demonstrate the stages of processing, because I didn't think about it at all, but only visually achieved the desired state and, as it seems to me, I reached it to a high key by applying the final vignetting.

Next you can see the original of this frame. Only now I noticed his histogram.

DSCN0400.JPG

Only now I noticed his histogram.

Снимок экрана (4430).png

You can compare its histogram with the histogram of the resulting image. It seems to me that this is the "high key" or very close to it.

Снимок экрана (4429).png

I have already used the black and white version of the processing in one of my previous posts, but I see the point of showing it here, because it is also an example of a High Key, although I like it more in color.

DSCN0400 (2)ю.jpg

Its histogram is not much different from the histogram of a color frame. This is what I think on the "peephole", without looking closely and without calculating the difference in the data.

Снимок экрана (4431).png

This will be followed by examples of frames taken quite a long time ago when shooting in black and white mode. I call this state "Silver". Now it seems to me that this can also be attributed to the high key.


I have not altered these pictures in any way. They are 100% originals.

PICT0183.JPG

PICT0181.JPG

Let's look at the histograms and draw some conclusions. I will not undertake to make them based on such data, but visually I attribute the pictures to a high key. If they are lightened, then the "silver" will disappear and there will be an ache in the eyes, characteristic of contemplating overexposed photos. Not all of them, in the presence of a white background, belong to the high key. It seems to me, but you think as you like and share your thoughts with me.

Снимок экрана (4432).png

Снимок экрана (4433).png

I also have a frame shot in color with the same camera settings. I cannot attribute it to a high key, although I find everything harmonious and balanced in color.

PICT0173.JPG

Снимок экрана (4434).png


The post is intended for participation in the contest from @bambuka

.............................................

Camera used: Camera used: Konica Minolta DIMAGE Z2

Thank you very much for visiting and reading!

With you @lllll1ll

.............................................

100% SP (and manual translation to SP)

............... #club100 ..............


Sort:  

I like the colour photo of the hat best, it has something delicate and also poses the question: who is wearing the hat? The picture leaves that open and the viewer can speculate.

And yes, I also do it like you - I go by my visual feeling and not by any values.

 last year 

And yes, I also do it like you - I go by my visual feeling and not by any values.

I can't disagree :)
We're just trying different processing methods. If it turns out that the proposed method is not suitable for a particular photo, so much the worse for the method :)) Or you need to choose a more suitable photo)

The trees in the contribution photo look as if everything, literally everything, is covered by snow. Under lock and key, so to speak. Very, very peaceful. Silent.

Die Bäume im Beitragsfoto wirken, als ob alles, also buchstäblich alles, zugedeckt ist von Schnee. Unter Verschluß, sozusagen. Sehr, sehr friedlich. Still.

 last year 

Yes, it looks like it :). That's why I supplemented the post with a color photo of these trees.

Loading...
 last year (edited)

As for the photos of trees

Что касается фотографий деревьев

image.png
image.png
image.png

Judging by the histogram, the photo corresponds to the middle key. The trunks of these trees are clearly darker than the 2nd step of the scale.

I tried to reduce the saturation of the dark. It turned out to be close to a high key, but I do not know if the image benefited from this. Black trunks created their own pattern on a light background of spring and this has its own highlight.

I think not every plot is suitable for a high key.

====================================
Судя по гистограмме, фото соответствует среднему ключу. Стволы этих деревьев явно темнее 2-й ступени шкалы.

Я попробовал снизить насыщенность тёмного. Получилось близко к высокому ключу, но я не знаю, выиграло ли от этого изображение. Чёрные стволы создавали свой рисунок на светлом фоне весны и в этом есть своя изюминка.

Думаю, не каждый сюжет подходит для высокого ключа.

PS. My option:

HNWT6DgoBc14riaEeLCzGYopkqYBKxpGKqfNWfgr368M9WNbzGw3gfRNj2awVtERZQz7D56v14gyebP3oPFA95rTAB3e1RavkUTr3rpSEHZYK2egbkRGZ3Dmsyp.jpg

 last year 

Мне кажется, что всё проиграло и я согласна на "средний" :)

 last year 

Я уже писал, что ВК не самоцель. Наоборот он должен быть инструментом мягкости и нежности, воздушности. А если есть чёткий рисунок и он важен для результата, то средний лучше подойдёт. :)
Ты права :-))

I like the result you obtained by processing the image of the hat: very dim, very delicate, barely perceptible to the eye but undoubtedly, its presence is noticeable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69053.05
ETH 3802.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69