You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: South Africa's Miracle Plant - Spekboom

in WORLD OF XPILARlast month

At first, I thought this is a plant I have in our garden.
It is edible but we don't plant it as it is quite aggressive and doesn't need to be planted, lol.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portulaca_oleracea

Unfortunately due to its high water content, they all freeze and disappear in the winter to again reappear in the springs :)

I put the leaves in many kinds of salads, they always add freshness to the taste :)

Sort:  

Yes, I think that is the same plant - well Google seems to think so anyway haha - I am no expert, lol.

And yes, I suppose you could say it is a little invasive... I think the kinder term is "easy grower" haha!

We have so much "wild" here, it just fits right in :D

 last month 

Hm, that's very interesting, as I have always been wondering what would happen if that monster doesn't "die" in the winter and keeps constantly growing. I love how it looks as a tree :)
I find its leaves not only a great addition to the salads but it appears its contents is awesome for our health...

Yes it has all sorts of benefits medicinally @lightcaptured - quite the wonder plant! And yes, agreed - it looks REALLY beautiful when turned into a "tree" - especially the bonsai styling!!!

 last month 

I like how it blooms as well.
That's inspirational... Maybe I will pant some seeds in a pot and grow indoors only. It may turn into a tree then :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37