You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Collective Quality on Steemit & Taking it Beyond.

in WORLD OF XPILAR21 days ago

Hey! My two cents ;)
Talking about quality of content. Not so long when I returned here but I believe curation on the platform needs rebalancing and tuning. I see many posts that I wonder what could possibly be the reason they receive huge upvotes. Then, on the other side are posts that totally go under the radar. Posts of people who try to do their best, obviously.

Of course, quality of the content is a matter of personal taste and preferences, as always has been.
It feels though, curators are way too busy so they focus on a small group of accounts.

Long terms - those few bloggers who know they are getting regularly huge support, tend to decrease their efforts with time, and the others who aren't noticed and supported, also do that, because they aren't seen and supported.

So, it seems, curation diversity is a key to keeping the quality higher ;)


Now, with the regards to the other channels of communication, Discord and Telegram are enough, if needed at all.

What I would like to do is for steemit.com frontend to be more stable, there are too many timeouts and temporary problems.

I wouldn't trust whatsapp, considering its owner is the one who owns FB, so that company most probably does the same crap that FB does...

More or less we've already got what we need here, at least I do, and when, as @the-gorilla says, the most of the users here are to profit the most while doing the least, probably what @weisser-rabe describes as a lazy system is the best.
Well, it isn't exactly lazy from where I stand, as my parents educated me in a way that I feel obligated to respond to all meaningful comments and replies I get so I spend a lot of time on the platform :)
I'd rather say it is "slow".

The parallel I am drawing here is the same as the "slow-food" movement ;)

Sort:  

I am going to come and reply to this properly tomorrow... but I hear you - and slow food is good food where I come from ;) or "good food takes time" as they also say! :)

 19 days ago 

Sure :)
On a separate note, if I ever move to France, it would be because of the lunch breaks and the wine. The beauty of language and the culture as well, of course :)

Talking about quality of content. Not so long when I returned here but I believe curation on the platform needs rebalancing and tuning. I see many posts that I wonder what could possibly be the reason they receive huge upvotes. Then, on the other side are posts that totally go under the radar. Posts of people who try to do their best, obviously.

I suppose there is always room for improvement. I do see a lot of active and genuine effort in curation around here too - and also have noted that some of these posts that are clearly not worth the value they are being bumped... seem to be getting that from old accounts from way back when - people who are not even around anymore (in a lot of cases anyway)

Long terms - those few bloggers who know they are getting regularly huge support, tend to decrease their efforts with time, and the others who aren't noticed and supported, also do that, because they aren't seen and supported.

Indeed and it seems like a bit of a lose lose situation when you look at it like that - but you are not wrong!

More or less we've already got what we need here, at least I do, and when, as the-gorilla says, the most of the users here are to profit the most while doing the least, probably what weisser-rabe describes as a lazy system is the best.
Well, it isn't exactly lazy from where I stand, as my parents educated me in a way that I feel obligated to respond to all meaningful comments and replies I get so I spend a lot of time on the platform :)
I'd rather say it is "slow".

I have actually given a lot of thought to this since writing this article and I really do agree with this stance or take on things. I don't want this space to become like so many others out there... because there are more negatives than there are positives.

 15 days ago 

I agree with you and I also have given those topics a lot of thinking but in order for us to change something, we have to own a bigger stake, I think. Or aid more to the platform and the communities, and to the quality creators. I can't tell with absolute certainty. It is a fine balance as those with the higher stakes are usually busy and the biggest investors don't have time to post regularly high-quality stuff. It is all fine, I suppose, after all :) I wish we have the power to make this all better in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57606.89
ETH 3164.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28