Microgreens

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

Microgreens are a wonderful product! These are useful substances for the body during the winter short cloudy days.
Shelves of lush trays with tender greens appeared in supermarkets and shopping centers. Did you see that? It's too expensive these days. I grow my own!

P1260136-2.jpg

Microgreens - what is it?

Microgreens are sprouts of vegetables and herbs in their early stages of development. The seeds of the plant produced cotyledons and the first true leaves. Microgreens are the initial stage of development of edible plants. The concentration of useful substances, including vitamins, is at this stage the highest.

The benefits of growing microgreens

  • I can germinate seeds in any container. I don't need crates or a lot of space. Microgreens are ideal for growing on a windowsill.

  • I do not need any special equipment, such as a lamp or extra heat, to plant the seeds and have the first shoots.

  • Microgreens take root well in all conditions.
    For planting different varieties of seeds the conditions are the same. I do not worry that the harvest of microgreens will die because of diseases or pests. Young sprouts appear in 5 to 7 days after planting, ready to eat. During this time, the sprouts do not have time to infect anything.

  • Microgreens do not need heavy watering. Microgreens grow quickly. I cut my first crop in 5 days, and the next one will be ready soon. This means you'll have all the vitamins you need all year round.

P1260130-2.jpg

So, I grew microgreens on absorbent cotton pads.
That's right! You can take absorbent cotton as the basis for sowing seeds. The material is clean, easy to spread out and absorbs water very well. I put the cotton disks in a suitable container. I moistened it well and sprinkled the seeds. Then made a mini greenhouse from the film and waited until the sprouts appear. It took 4-5 days.

P1210364.jpg

Here is the result🌱

P1260130-2.jpg

The process of growing microgreens is the simplest option for germinating seeds that does not require special skills.
P1260133-2.jpg

I can enjoy the freshest and most beneficial microgreens!

P1260134.jpg
For breakfast😀

P1260136.jpg

P1260137-2.jpg

P1260137.jpg

P1260138.jpg

Bon appetit to you too!



Camera: OLYMPUS E-M1
Lens: M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm 1:2.8 PRO
Software:Olympus Workspace
Software: Lightroom

Enjoy!

Original photos by © @leylar

Thanks for your time!

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Greetings my friend @leylar I hope you are well. I missed seeing your photography here in the WORLD OF XPILAR. So I am really glad that you are back. Is this fenugreek by any chance? I love microgreens and currently I am growing pea Serge and sweetcorn Royalty shoots. It’s been ages since I had a fried egg. I am poaching or scrambling eggs lately so thank you for reminding me of the fried option. I am also growing my own mushrooms. I picked the first one for this year today. It is very likely that I will post about it too. Have a great night and see you around!

Как здОрово!!! Умница!!!

😀 ага🌱

Очень аппетитно смотрится!)))

... на завтрак!😂

А что там ещё, кроме яичницы?)))

...кусочки домашнего сыра с зеленью🧀 и микрозелень🌱

А я думала, что кусочки ананасов!)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58269.26
ETH 3067.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25