Got close ✈️✈️🚫

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year

My Travel day from Perth back home to NZ has been eventful and not quite over yet, the overnight flight from Perth to Sydney went alright but on arriving there i got informed my next flight to Auckland was delayed 90 minutes.

This was my last picture taken just before we left Perth
20231014_224800.jpg

The delay in Sydney had a flow on affect to my last flight which meant i would not have enough time to catch it, so i decided to book another domestic flight this time leaving Auckland at 6pm - this gave me plenty of time to arrive and catch it.

At Sydney airport i got my son a Fitbit watch as its his birthday 2 days after mine on the 19th October.
20231015_072741.jpg

I found it hard to sleep on the Perth flight and was hoping to grab 3 hours sleep going to Auckland but a couple of 2 years were screaming and sounded upset - nothing i can do about that!

This is me back in NZ waiting to get off the plane
20231015_100841.jpg

Ok so 2 down just one little 1 hour flight and i will finally get to see my Family and the four legged furball, at the start of this flight we were warned that it would be a bumpy ride into Palmerston North due to high winds - bring it on i love thrill rides.

This is me leaving Auckland now on 32 hours without sleep but i felt good and i was thinking about home comforts LOL.
20231015_165558.jpg
The first part of the flight was normal but when we started to descend that's when the fun started, it was probably the bumpiest flight i have ever been on and others were holding on and some audible gasps were heard - some guy was throwing up.

The pilot tried to land but was unable to so they advised they would take us back to Auckland, it was a long flight back to due a headwind but we finally landed.

AIR NZ offered a Hotel but my work had already told me just book one, the line for the AIR NZ counter was so long as i was pleased i didn't have to stand in it - spoke to guy this morning who said it took him 2 hours to reach the counter.

I grabbed some food from the Airport and got a taxi to my accommodation, by this time i had been awake for close to 34 hours and feel asleep and slept for 12 hours.
Screenshot_20231015-192409_Outlook.jpg
This morning i walked the 5K to the airport and firstly went to all the rental car companies who had nothing on offer, my flight is booked for 6pm tonight and i am just hanging around the airport until that time.

If it does not fly for any reason i may start walking the 550K home.

That has been my travel towards home so far and i really hope i get home tonight as it's my Birthday tomorrow.

Thank you for reading my post

🦘🐍🕷️🐊🌏🦘🐍🕷️🐊🌏🦘🐍🕷️🐊🌏

all pics are mine
smudge approves this post

I am @kiwiscanfly 🥝🐔

20230523_142326.jpg

Sort:  

Good luck for your long walk ;-)

No one needs such experiences. I keep the fingers crossed you will be back in time for your birthday party. :-)

Oh that's a full of eventful day for you. Here's hoping you find your way back home today somehow, and enjoy the upcoming Birthdays. Your son will be thrilled because that Fitbit looks awesome! 👌

TEAM 4

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator07. Good post

20230927_094720_0000.png

Curated by : <@graceleon>

So sorry that you had to go through the ordeal. Cancelled flights and delay flights are a traveller's nightmare, especially if you have a connecting flight to catch. In high sight, it would have been a lot easier to just catch a flight from Perth home.
Anyway, I hope all goes well from here.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Welcome home. By reading your post, it sounds like you had a lot of "fun" on your flight. Long fights are so tough. I hope you can recover from your sleep deprivation soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68228.47
ETH 2641.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72