The Journey from Clinician to a Public Health Advocate

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 months ago

Greetings,

One of the most common questions I get asked is what motivated me to transition from clinical dentistry to the public health sector. While there were many contributing factors, the one reasons that shaped my career choice was the realization that prevention done at an earlier stage is better than treatment.

For years as a practicing dentist, I organized and led over 30 dental camps and awareness sessions serving underprivileged communities across the country. Providing care to homeless populations, street children, transgender individuals, members of the deaf community, elderly in care homes and cancer patients exposed me to realities I had been oblivious to beforehand. I realized accessible and affordable dental care is simply not a privilege all people can enjoy.

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-08 at 6.56.07 PM (1).jpeg

Dental Checkup being done at a transgender community in Pakistan

Leading those dental camps to underserved communities across Pakistan was truly eye-opening. It laid bare the vast inequalities in access to basic oral care. While I take great pride in my clinical skills as a dentist, I began to see their limitations without a bigger picture approach.

In the future, I plan to share more about the specific initiatives we carried out in places like Hunza, Thar and Karachi. But for now, I'll simply say that being immersed in diverse public health challenges affirmed my choice. Public health captured my interest as a field where I could channel my passions fully while making a broader impact. Visiting remote and marginalized regions opened my eyes to the immense health disparities present in our society. I have not looked back since making the switch. Overall, choosing this career path has allowed me to stay true to my core values and purpose in a much more direct way.

WhatsApp Image 2024-06-08 at 6.56.08 PM.jpeg

In my zone at a camp in Hunza

As someone rightfully said,

Be the change the world needs by helping others.

While public health has become my passion and focus, I've maintained my clinical roots as well. After making the shift, I opened my own general dentistry practice where I continue treating patients one-on-one. Being able to directly care for individuals reminds me of why I do this important work. Between operating my practice and coordinating various public health initiatives, I've discovered an ideal balance. Clinically, I'm fulfiling my drive to help those who walk through my door daily. And through broader reforms, I'm empowering entire populations to attain wellness for generations to come.

Sort:  

TEAM 5

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcuratorXX We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags.



Curated by : @soulfuldreamer

Thankyou so much

 2 months ago 

You definitely make this world a better place!
If you don't mind, I will publish a link to this material on our WOX channel.
https://t.me/+UThhKqfeJOZkMzEy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65